Where does algae come from in the first place?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Algae


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-03-2013, 11:17 AM   #1
Smeagol
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Smeagol's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Ohio
Posts: 314
Default

Where does algae come from in the first place?


We all know that under certain conditions different kinds of algae begin to grow and thrive. But how do all the different kinds of algae get into the tank to begin with? I mean, if the conditions in my tank are perfect for angelfish, angelfish don't spontaneously start growing in my tank. I have to put them in there. Well, how does the "first" algae get in there? Are all the different species of algae already present at microscopic levels in all water? Or do algae spores travel through the air and land in the tank? Where do they come from?
__________________
55g: Finnex Planted+ & MonsterRay, Pressurized CO2 w/ Atomic inline diffuser, Eheim 2217, Eco-Complete, EI ferts. Assorted Tetras, Otos, & Nerites. Glosso, Didiplis diandra, Hygrophila corymbosa, Creeping Jenny, Ludwigia repens, Ludwigia glandulosa, Jungle Val, Amazon Sword, Red Melon Sword, Wisteria.

20g high: 2x24w T5ho, DIY CO2 & Excel, 2xAC50, Flourite, miscellaneous ferts.
Otos, Red Wag Platies, Harlequin Rasboras. Marsilea quadrifolia, Jungle Val, Cabomba, Tropica Sword, Water Sprite.
Smeagol is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-03-2013, 11:54 AM   #2
HD Blazingwolf
Planted Tank Guru
 
HD Blazingwolf's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,907
Default

everywhere
tap water, fish poop, fish food
under the right humidity probably the air you breathe. i personally think black alage is present in my tap water, i dont get any other kind in my tank... ever. i got hair algae once from a new fish.
and i have noticed a 2 1 micron filters run in series on water change day reduces my chances of black algae significantly.
dont forget new plants u get, snails, etc
__________________
HD Blazingwolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 03:43 PM   #3
Aquatic Delight
H is for Hillstream
 
Aquatic Delight's Avatar
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Space Coast, Florida
Posts: 2,062
Default

so if I set up a new tank, with only things that are dry, and 10x dose the water with excel, a day before i add it to the tank. i could run my my lights 24/7 and never get algae? so long as i never add anything?
__________________
Will
________________________________

Hillstream/Boreno Loach Refuge

A Light Heart is Better than a Heavy Wallet.
Aquatic Delight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 03:59 PM   #4
plantbrain
Planted Tank Guru
 
plantbrain's Avatar
 
PTrader: (255/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: The swamp
Posts: 13,230
Default

Algae manage to grow in temporary pools just about everywhere there is water and light for a few days.

How do they get there?

Angelfish clearly do not.

You have to be able to get to the new habitat, algae are very very good, better than plants in this regard.

Spores/wind etc.
__________________
Regards,
Tom Barr
plantbrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 05:37 PM   #5
HD Blazingwolf
Planted Tank Guru
 
HD Blazingwolf's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,907
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aquatic Delight View Post
so if I set up a new tank, with only things that are dry, and 10x dose the water with excel, a day before i add it to the tank. i could run my my lights 24/7 and never get algae? so long as i never add anything?
i doubt it, 3 days later u'll have something growing
__________________
HD Blazingwolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 09:45 PM   #6
chew
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (13/100%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: sacramento
Posts: 356
Default Where does algae come from in the first place?

So theoretically if it was in a completely sealed environment with no spores present you could leave the lights on 24/7?
__________________
chew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 11:28 PM   #7
ThatGuyWithTheFish
perugiae
 
ThatGuyWithTheFish's Avatar
 
PTrader: (23/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Boston
Posts: 2,247
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chew View Post
So theoretically if it was in a completely sealed environment with no spores present you could leave the lights on 24/7?
If you used pure water, yeah. Spores are in the tap, too.
__________________

"Boulders-Upon-Meadow"


My Golden Rule of planted tanks: WWTAD-
"What would Takashi Amano do?"


RAOK Club #69
ThatGuyWithTheFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 04:24 AM   #8
plantbrain
Planted Tank Guru
 
plantbrain's Avatar
 
PTrader: (255/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: The swamp
Posts: 13,230
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chew View Post
So theoretically if it was in a completely sealed environment with no spores present you could leave the lights on 24/7?
A sterile tank full of water sealed? Sure.
Let me know how well of an aquarium that will make.
__________________
Regards,
Tom Barr
plantbrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012