Connecting two sumps
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-26-2013, 03:10 PM   #1
Dx3Bash
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Dx3Bash's Avatar
 
PTrader: (10/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 468
Default

Connecting two sumps


I am setting up a 120 gallon with a 30 gal wet dry. I have a second 20 gallon sump that I wanted to plumb together with the wet dry sump for extra water volume, more sump space for equipment, and to use as a possible future refugium. I am thinking about connecting the two sumps with two (2" or 1.5") bulkhead connections (4 bulkheads total needed). I am curious if anyone has done this and if 1.5" bulkheads will provide enough flow between the two sumps to keep up with a 1000 gph pump. It appears easy enough and straight forward but thought I would ask to see if someone has personal experience doing this.
__________________
Dx3Bash is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-26-2013, 03:23 PM   #2
scapegoat
Planted Tank Guru
 
scapegoat's Avatar
 
PTrader: (15/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: philadelphia, pa
Posts: 2,232
Default

why not get a bigger sump tank? I think the petco $1/gallon sale ends tomorrow, or this weekend.

I've never done what you're thinking, but it sounds like it should work alright. you could always set up baffles to direct flow to the bulkhead
__________________
scapegoat is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-26-2013, 03:49 PM   #3
Dx3Bash
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Dx3Bash's Avatar
 
PTrader: (10/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 468
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scapegoat View Post
why not get a bigger sump tank?
Because I already own the custom made 30 gal acrylic wet dry and the 20 gal acrylic sump. It is also more economical to use what I already own versus going out and buying more stuff. What I am looking for is someone who has connected two sumps in the fashion and whether or not 1.5 bulkheads provide enough flow. If not, I will use some 2" bulkheads I already own that were intended for a different project.
__________________
Dx3Bash is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-26-2013, 04:02 PM   #4
HD Blazingwolf
Planted Tank Guru
 
HD Blazingwolf's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,907
Default

i don't see why a 2 inch bulkhead wouldnt work. that size can move a lot of water,
i wouldn't think using the 1.5 as well would be needed.. i had considered doing this one mine with a 1.5 so i can have a separate sump for just co2
__________________
HD Blazingwolf is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-26-2013, 04:19 PM   #5
Dx3Bash
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Dx3Bash's Avatar
 
PTrader: (10/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 468
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HD Blazingwolf View Post
i don't see why a 2 inch bulkhead wouldnt work. that size can move a lot of water,
i wouldn't think using the 1.5 as well would be needed.. i had considered doing this one mine with a 1.5 so i can have a separate sump for just co2
With what type of flow rate? My pump on puts out 980 gph and at the 4.5 head, maybe 825'ish. So it wont have a ton of flow between sumps. I can't imagine that two 1.5" not being enough, but again, I've never done this before.

Thanks for your input.
__________________
Dx3Bash is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-26-2013, 10:53 PM   #6
HD Blazingwolf
Planted Tank Guru
 
HD Blazingwolf's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,907
Default

one 1.5 on each side would be enough
2 inch is just a margin for error, and upgrades maybe?
keep in mind though, there won't be any siphoning by gravity. you'll be installing a horizontal tube. water will move because it will have a new place to go. more or less
__________________
HD Blazingwolf is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012