Cycling question
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > General Planted Tank Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-26-2013, 05:43 PM   #1
Isujustice05
Algae Grower
 
Isujustice05's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Illinois
Posts: 79
Default

Cycling question


So I currently have a 55 gallon tank heavily planted been setup for quite sometime now. I am setting up a 10 gallon tank for shrimp and have a question about cycling. My substrate in the 55 is ecocomplete. When I set it up I had an extra 20lb bag leftover. If I was to essentially take 20lbs out of the 55 and use it for the 10 (replacing it with the new unused bag) while also adding a good amount of plants from my 55 would it be shrimp safe relatively quickly?
__________________
RAOK CLUB #95
Isujustice05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-26-2013, 07:07 PM   #2
jmowbray
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (18/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Standish, MI.
Posts: 1,826
Default

I have been told that the load of shrimp on a system is minimal. Therefore, you don't even need to cycle the tank because they create hardly any waste. For what you want to do yes you are 100% safe adding the substrate from one tank to the other to reduce/eliminate the cycle. However, just a warning you may create a mini cycle in you 55 when you do this. Also if you haven't mix the substrate in the 55 ever you may cause a release of H2S.
jmowbray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 07:07 PM   #3
discuspaul
Planted Tank Guru
 
discuspaul's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 2,251
Default

That should work fairly quickly, but give it a couple of weeks before adding the shrimp, testing for ammonia/nitrites frequently to be sure your params are ok. (adding ammonia, if need be, during that period to maintain sustenance for the bacteria).
Do you really need as much as 20 lbs. of eco-complete in your 10 gal ? Seems a bit much.
discuspaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 07:11 PM   #4
wendyjo
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (7/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: DC area
Posts: 2,972
Default

How many shrimp do you plan to add at once?
wendyjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 07:21 PM   #5
Isujustice05
Algae Grower
 
Isujustice05's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Illinois
Posts: 79
Default

I will only add as much ecoconplete as itI takes just trying to better illustrate what I want to do. And I will be adding 10the shrimp.
__________________
RAOK CLUB #95
Isujustice05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012