Problem with Cerges Reactor
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-24-2013, 01:44 AM   #1
dstevenson2k
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (13/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Posts: 74
Default

Problem with Cerges Reactor


I built a Cerges Reactor by modifying a phosban reactor and run it on a closed loop in my tank with a Maxijet 1200 at 295gph.

Problem is, by the end of the light cycle some large CO2 bubbles have built up in the reactor. I'm not talking a large single bubble at the top of the reactor, but the bubbles in the reactor are pretty big and don't seem to be getting smashed up by the flow. After the lights go out, it takes a good 2 to 2 1/2 hours for all the CO2 in the reactor to dissolve. This is coupled with the fact that I'm still seeing CO2 deficiency in some of my plants despite really pumping in the CO2.

My question is should I upgrade to a larger pump with more GPH to better smash up the bubbles? Would this make the CO2 bubbles dissolve better or just end up pushing them out of the reactor?

Any suggestions would be appreciated.
Thanks,
Dan
dstevenson2k is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-24-2013, 01:53 AM   #2
HD Blazingwolf
Planted Tank Guru
 
HD Blazingwolf's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,907
Default

if u feel comfortable. drill a small hole at the top and add a venturi purge

an airline that will feed into the pump running the reactor. this way its recycled and goes back through the reactor as a very fine mist.. it will solve your buildup problem

you may even see a slight mist in the tank which seems to grow plants better anyways, but that's just theory...
many hobbyists agree with that observation however
__________________
HD Blazingwolf is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-26-2013, 08:08 AM   #3
dstevenson2k
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (13/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Posts: 74
Default

So after some research I'm going to replace the MJ 1200 with a Danner Mag 3 with fractionating impeller. I'm hoping the fractionating impeller will break up the bubbles and allow them to dissolve more readily inside the reactor.

Any bubbles that escape will be mist and should be beneficial to the plants as well. The benefits of a reactor and misting! The pump arrives tomorrow and I will update to let everyone know how it works out for me.

Thanks for the suggestion Blazingwolf!

Dan
dstevenson2k is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-26-2013, 10:55 PM   #4
HD Blazingwolf
Planted Tank Guru
 
HD Blazingwolf's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,907
Default

no problem, understand this, when bubbles are fractioned before the reactor. i lot more tend to make it through. as long as you don't mind the mist, you should see a small but noticeable change in plant growth and co2 levels
__________________
HD Blazingwolf is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-27-2013, 12:06 AM   #5
dstevenson2k
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (13/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Posts: 74
Default

You weren't kidding about the bubbles going through the reactor. It's like there's no reason to even have the reactor anymore, except maybe that it adds to dwell time. When you said I'dnotice a slight change in plant growth and co2 levels, would these be positive changes due to misting instead of dissolving co2 in the reactor?
dstevenson2k is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-27-2013, 12:46 AM   #6
dstevenson2k
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (13/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Posts: 74
Default

So I had an idea. Is there any way I could add a tee to my CO2 line? That way half the CO2 would be fed into the fractionating pump, turning them into microbubbles, and the other half would enter the reactor to be dissolved. I'm worried that since the venturi on the pump is meant to draw in air none of the CO2 would actually go into the reactor. Any thoughts on this?
dstevenson2k is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-27-2013, 02:13 PM   #7
HD Blazingwolf
Planted Tank Guru
 
HD Blazingwolf's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,907
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dstevenson2k View Post
So I had an idea. Is there any way I could add a tee to my CO2 line? That way half the CO2 would be fed into the fractionating pump, turning them into microbubbles, and the other half would enter the reactor to be dissolved. I'm worried that since the venturi on the pump is meant to draw in air none of the CO2 would actually go into the reactor. Any thoughts on this?
if ur feeding just co2 into the venturi. this is fine. many do this
my mist comes from the retunr pump in my sump. i feed directly into its inlet. before i built a reactor all mist went into the tank

having a "T" is not a bad idea, however i would put valves on each line to control one way or the other, this would be a good way to control how much mist you are getting

anyother thing to consider is a ball valve on the reactor. if this is a closed loop system or part of a larger system. slowing the flow down out of the reactor, will allow more mist to be dissolved.


your co2 levels should increase. having mist go through the tank, gives it more contact time, and surface area to dissolve in.
__________________
HD Blazingwolf is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012