Peat in the Filter
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > General Planted Tank Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-20-2003, 03:25 PM   #1
jojomichael
Algae Grower
 
jojomichael's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: California
Posts: 94
Default

How often should I change the peat I am going to use in my AquaClear 150? I have a 15G tank... and for those of you who did, how much peat did you use?

I've been to the Peat Page and I prefer to go with the peat in the filter method...
__________________
jojomichael is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-20-2003, 05:01 PM   #2
hubbahubbahehe
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Fremont, California
Posts: 1,315
Default

what are you using peat for?
__________________
Eheim Pimp Club Member #32
hubbahubbahehe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2003, 05:18 PM   #3
jojomichael
Algae Grower
 
jojomichael's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: California
Posts: 94
Default

black water, soften and lower the water... for my rams and cardinals.

Right now, I'm using Tetra Blackwater Extract. I bought this huge brick of sphagnum peat moss at home depot for $7, much cheaper than the additive. I don't wanna crash my pH if I put too much. I wanna know the starting point, like 1 cup of peat maybe?
__________________
jojomichael is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2003, 05:25 PM   #4
hubbahubbahehe
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Fremont, California
Posts: 1,315
Default

What's the water parameters of your tap water?

If you want to soften the water, a quick and easy way is to mix your tap water with RO water.

you could do both, putting peat in the filter and mixing your water, because if your water is anything like mine (ph 8, GH and KH up to 10) then peat alone will not work too well.

If you want to black water real quick, you know what works?? tea bags. but i don't know how safe it is for the aquarium. one of my girl friends uses tea bags for terrestrial plants that need a more acidic environment.
__________________
Eheim Pimp Club Member #32
hubbahubbahehe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2003, 08:36 PM   #5
m.lemay
Planted Tank Guru
 
m.lemay's Avatar
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Naugatuck, CT.
Posts: 2,647
Default

I would start with about a 1/4 cup to start and monitor your ph and kh/gh daily to see what effect its having. All peat is different, but you should be able to get a good feel for the brick you got by monitoring for a couple weeks.

Marcel
__________________
FILSTAR Pimp #2

75 gal heavily planted,50/50 Black beauty,Eco-complete substrate, Pressurised CO2 with solenoid, ph controller, AB Reactor 1000, 330 watts 9325K GE PC lighting,Ehiem Liquidoser, 2-Filstar xp3 canisters.
m.lemay is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Undergravel filter : Am I crazy? Ianice Berg General Planted Tank Discussion 5 09-10-2004 09:12 PM
Mod. a H.O.T. Magnum/diatom filter....? fedge Equipment 28 08-30-2004 12:00 PM
Woodshrimps and Diatom filter macbrush Equipment 6 07-21-2004 01:08 PM
How to Prime a Filter anonapersona Equipment 2 02-01-2004 07:47 PM
peat in my filter? how much? tony-da-tiger General Planted Tank Discussion 10 08-16-2003 05:29 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012