CO2 tank in basement?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-23-2013, 03:40 PM   #1
BuckeyeSS
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 12
Default

CO2 tank in basement?


Due to the tight space in the stand below the tank (about 26in), a 10lb cylinder is all that will fit and even it may be tight. Therefore I was thinking about getting a 20lb and running a line through an existing hole in the wall that goes to the basement a floor below and having it down there.

My question is, I have searched and read that regular tubing loses 6% per foot, and though I was planning on CO2 specific tubing, would there be too much loss even in that in the 20-30ft that I would need from the reactor to the regulator? There is an electrical outlet down there for the solenoid so that isn't a problem. I'm thinking I may also save a little on tank refills/exchanges in the long run also by using a larger tank. Can anyone think of any other reasons that I shouldn't do this? Does anyone else have this setup also?
BuckeyeSS is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-23-2013, 04:50 PM   #2
nofearengineer
Aquatic Vegetable
 
nofearengineer's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 230
Default

Loses 6% of what per foot?
nofearengineer is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-23-2013, 04:52 PM   #3
gSTiTcH
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
gSTiTcH's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 838
Default

For a run that long, I would be inclined to run hard copper off the regulator up to a nipple at the tank, then go to your silicone tubing.
gSTiTcH is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-23-2013, 06:30 PM   #4
alexei
Algae Grower
 
alexei's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 74
Default

Get yourself some Tygon from USPlastic and don't worry about it. The new E-3603 which replaces the R-3603 would do you just fine. Yes, there is some loss, but it is minimal compared to the effort and expense you would put into hard lining co2 with copper. You can opt for less permeable flexible tubing option, but the prices will scare you off $10.61/ft for Fluran F-5500-A. Reinforced beverage co2 line is also an option, but those have permeability issues the same as anything else.

Compare them yourself:
http://www.processsystems.saint-goba...ity%281%29.pdf

http://www.piedmontplastics.com/medi...10r%208-06.pdf

http://www.thecatalogroom.com/Saint_..._Converted.pdf
__________________
alexei is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-23-2013, 06:35 PM   #5
WheeledGoat
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
WheeledGoat's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Chicago
Posts: 324
Default

are you sure that 6% pressure loss per foot isn't referring to liquids? i remember doing the math on installing taps upstairs, running from my keezer in the basement and it quickly got prohibitive - I would have had to overcarb the beer to get it up there, nevermind the sheer volume of beer that would go flat in the lines awaiting dispensing for the diameter of tubing required to make it work.

but I digress - double check what you're looking at is for gas. I have a feeling you'll be totally OK. In fact, I might steal your idea! donno why I didn't think of that!
WheeledGoat is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-23-2013, 09:15 PM   #6
TwoTacoCombo
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (16/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 403
Default

For all the cost and hassle of plumbing in a 20# tank, why not get two 5# and just swap them as they empty? Unless you're trying to turn your tank into 7-UP, you're not going to be going through so much gas that a 20# is really going to save you that much in the long run.
TwoTacoCombo is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-23-2013, 09:24 PM   #7
IWANNAGOFAST
I see LEDs
 
IWANNAGOFAST's Avatar
 
PTrader: (33/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,864
Default

A 20# tank costs $30 to refill. A 5# costs $20. I go thru a 5# in like 3 months so the expense would add up quick
IWANNAGOFAST is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-24-2013, 12:03 AM   #8
oldpunk78
/)ಠ_ಠ(\
 
PTrader: (107/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Anderson, CA
Posts: 5,560
Default

For that long of a run, I would think about putting both the solenoid and needle valve at the end of the the run under your tank. I would also consider ridgid tubing for going from the basement to the tank.
oldpunk78 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-24-2013, 02:34 AM   #9
BuckeyeSS
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 12
Default

Even with the flexible CO2 tubing that places like GreenLeafAquariums sell you think I may have a problem with CO2 loss? If I will need to use a hard line it may be more hassle than it is worth right now, especially since I am just learning and assembling the system. I'm thinking realistically the line will be less than 15ft but I was asking in preparation for a "worst case" scenario.

I made some calls to welding shops and fire extinguisher stores and the cheapest I came across is an exchange on a 10lb tank for $14. To initially buy the tank is $70. That doesn't sound bad to me. I didn't ask about a 20lb one yet.
BuckeyeSS is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-24-2013, 02:49 AM   #10
aesthetics808
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: hawaii
Posts: 60
Default

maybe you should tell us what size and how many tanks your gonna run co2 on. if its just one tank I wouldn't bother with more than a 5 lbs tank.
aesthetics808 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-24-2013, 12:43 PM   #11
BuckeyeSS
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 12
Default

one 75 gallon. May as well get the biggest tank that I can within reason though, right? The biggest that will fit under the tank is a 10lb so that is the smallest I would consider getting. My thought was that if it wasn't going to be a problem, just run a CO2 line to the basement and get a bigger tank and save myself time and money by doing less refills.
BuckeyeSS is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-24-2013, 03:15 PM   #12
WheeledGoat
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
WheeledGoat's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Chicago
Posts: 324
Default

I'd vote 10# tank, almost regardless of size/number of aquariums (excepting the extremes). It holds plenty of gas, while still being a manageable size. Don't forget - even though they're common in our circle, co2 tanks are not mainstream enough to be armed with consumer niceties (like the check valves on propane tanks). You're always only one slip away from setting off a bomb.

Respect the tank!
WheeledGoat is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-24-2013, 03:44 PM   #13
Wasserpest
Are these real?
 
Wasserpest's Avatar
 
PTrader: (176/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Monterey, CA
Posts: 15,139
Default

I would not worry about it too much...

Years ago when the "6%/ft loss" thing came out, someone actually tried to use 20ft of that highly permeable silicone airline as a diffuser. It was a total bust... nothing came through.

I ran about 30ft and used spaghetti drip tubing from HD. Not sure how it ranks in permeability but what bubbled through the bubble counter at the CO2 tank was pretty much what came out on the other end.

So, I think you would be just fine using some fairly thick-walled "CO2 line". I would not put solenoid/needle valve close to the aquarium - that will leave the hose under constant high pressure, sounds like an extremely bad idea. Definitely use a good CO2 check valve close to the aquarium to prevent water creeping back in the line (actually, it is CO2 dissolving in the water, just looks like the water moves back).

On the other hand, using a 10lb tank should work just as great. I use a 10lb tank to inject into a "medium tech" 250gal and 36gal tank. Previously I also fed 10 gal and low tech 135 gal tanks. Right now the CO2 lasts about 10 months. Of course, YMMV.
Wasserpest is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-24-2013, 06:32 PM   #14
gSTiTcH
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
gSTiTcH's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 838
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wasserpest View Post
I would not put solenoid/needle valve close to the aquarium - that will leave the hose under constant high pressure, sounds like an extremely bad idea.
That's the exact reason I recommended a copper tubing* as opposed to plastic/silicone. Something with much less potential to blow up under pressure. Also much less likely to get damaged due to pests, or brittle with age.

*I realize I said hard copper line. I was referring more to a more flexible line that can be assembled with compression fittings, but still not subject to expansion.
gSTiTcH is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-24-2013, 06:41 PM   #15
exv152
Wannabe Guru
 
exv152's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,443
Default

If your solenoid and regulator are closer to the source (co2 bottle) there's no need to worry about the line bing under pressure when the lights are off, and makes a lot more sense from a practical and safety point of view. Personally I would just buy a 10lbs tank and put it under the cabinet, problem solved. It still lasts a long time on a 75g.
__________________
Eheim Pimp Club,# 496
25g 60-H iwagumi
125g high tech
7g cube
33g iwagumi cube
75g low tech angelfish tank
exv152 is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012