Proceeding with the hardscape ...
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Aquascaping


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-22-2013, 12:02 AM   #1
thornomad
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: New England
Posts: 143
Question

Proceeding with the hardscape ...


This seems like a little bit of a silly question, but I was wondering: do you put the rocks in the tank before adding substrate? Or do you place the rocks on top of your substrate and just push them in?

I have seen some photographs of people laying out their tank without any substrate in it. But I wasn't sure about just putting the rocks right on the glass.

I am going to go with potting soil capped with eco complete.

Last edited by thornomad; 04-22-2013 at 12:05 AM.. Reason: typo in title
thornomad is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-22-2013, 01:57 AM   #2
LB79
Wannabe Guru
 
LB79's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: South-central Washington State, USA
Posts: 1,918
Default

I do both, actually. Depends on the rock and the substrate.
__________________
"One day...one day, this path will lead us to the White City, and the tower guard will take up the call: the Lords of Gondor have returned!"

–Boromir, The Lord Of The Rings
LB79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 05:27 PM   #3
Knotyoureality
Wannabe Guru
 
Knotyoureality's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,053
Default

Most often you'll see folks do their layouts without substrate just because it's easier to move 'em around and test looks that way. The point at which a rock goes IN the tank in relation to the substrate varies by need.

An overlarge or very heavy rock might go in before any substrate (padding or support underneath is generally added to ensure the weight of the rock is evenly distributed) so that it ends up sitting at the right level, while a smaller rock might be placed only after all the substrate is in and not pushed in at all.
Knotyoureality is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 07:06 PM   #4
thornomad
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: New England
Posts: 143
Default Re: Proceeding with the hardscape ...

Thanks for the input. What do folks use as padding to disperse the weight ?
thornomad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 07:47 PM   #5
Cthulhu
Planted Member
 
Cthulhu's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Montreal
Posts: 176
Default

Most people seem to use styrofoam of eggcrate
Cthulhu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012