(New) Current Satellite Freshwater LED+ Fixture (6500K/RGB)??? - Page 20
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Lighting


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-20-2013, 05:10 PM   #286
jpappy789
Wannabe Guru
 
jpappy789's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 1,045
Default

Don't let my panicking stop you from using the fixture...I can say that other than the minor remote/IR receiver glitches that I'm completely satisfied. Looks better than any other fixture I've used, and the rest is add-ons anyways.

I'd say the only big reason to wait is if you are looking to get their plant fixture when it launches.
__________________
jpappy789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-20-2013, 05:59 PM   #287
KTern
Algae Grower
 
KTern's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: California
Posts: 61
Default

like jpappy said I am happy with my fixture. I love it. customer service is taking care of my issue. I have nothing to regret with my light. It looks great on my planted 55g.
KTern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 06:03 PM   #288
Bradleyv1714
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 355
Default

I have been looking for a fixture to give me mid lighting or almost mid lighting. I currently have a double t8 shop light and just wanted to get something that will make my tank look nice, give me enough light but not too much that I will need to have co2 or dose fers. Gf won't allow it.
__________________
Bradleyv1714 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 08:26 PM   #289
Current USA
Sponsor
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Vista CA
Posts: 261
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jpappy789 View Post
Kevin, any ideas on why the remote/IR receiver would not be working? Seems that a few people are having issues.

I also noticed that mine changed when I used my TV remote! I'm not sure if it was a random coincidence or whether they are on the same wavelength, literally.
hey guys,

I just skimmed through the last couple pages so let me know if I missed something.

These are made on a massive scale so a few are bound to have issues. The good news is, with any Current USA product, you have a 1 full year of warranty (usually 2 years+). just simply fill in the following form and we will send you a shipping label to send yours back while we send a brand new one your way!

http://www.current-usa.com/support/w...y-service-form

As a side note, we provide very little phone support since all issues have to be taken care of over our website's support ticket system to ensure the best quality customer service. We usually respond 6 days/week and 2x/day making it a much better alternative than phone support.

Feel free to email me at kevin@current-usa.com if you guys have any issues!
__________________
Visit our site at: http://www.current-usa.com/

Follow us on facebook! https://www.facebook.com/CurrentUSA
Current USA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 08:31 PM   #290
Current USA
Sponsor
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Vista CA
Posts: 261
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by somewhatshocked View Post
Why would you regret it?

Tons of us have the fixtures and have no issues. If you have a problem, customer service will resolve it.
You're right! We have the best customer service team here. Most warranties are taken care of within 24hrs. Meaning if you submitted a warranty request with all appropriate information, your replacement goes out the next day!

You guys are dealing with Current USA here. We stand behind our quality 100% and if there's anything wrong on our end, we'll make sure to fix it.
__________________
Visit our site at: http://www.current-usa.com/

Follow us on facebook! https://www.facebook.com/CurrentUSA
Current USA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 10:30 PM   #291
jpappy789
Wannabe Guru
 
jpappy789's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 1,045
Default

Just want to make sure before I fill anything out, do I need to send it back in the same box? Because I may have thrown that out...
__________________
jpappy789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 10:38 PM   #292
Current USA
Sponsor
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Vista CA
Posts: 261
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jpappy789 View Post
Just want to make sure before I fill anything out, do I need to send it back in the same box? Because I may have thrown that out...
Nope. Submit the form and we'll give you instructions
__________________
Visit our site at: http://www.current-usa.com/

Follow us on facebook! https://www.facebook.com/CurrentUSA
Current USA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 04:32 PM   #293
Bradleyv1714
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 355
Default

Placed my order again for the current sat+ from fosters and smith. Decided that I would get one of these since this was the unit that my gf liked so much that she let me buy it. If anything I'll buy one of the New ones when it comes out.
__________________
Bradleyv1714 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 04:53 PM   #294
andyl9063
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 253
Default

how do they do on a big tank like 72in wide and 30 high?
__________________
andyl9063 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 05:02 PM   #295
somewhatshocked
Obsessed? Maybe
 
somewhatshocked's Avatar
 
PTrader: (430/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 11,443
Default

You'd be on the low end but could probably support things like Anubias, ferns and mosses.

Quote:
Originally Posted by andyl9063 View Post
how do they do on a big tank like 72in wide and 30 high?
somewhatshocked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 06:07 PM   #296
Bradleyv1714
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 355
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by somewhatshocked View Post
You'd be on the low end but could probably support things like Anubias, ferns and mosses.
So if he would be in the low end at 30 inches deep. Would I be more towards mid if the light is about 18 -20 inches away from substrate?
__________________
Bradleyv1714 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 09:00 PM   #297
Current USA
Sponsor
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Vista CA
Posts: 261
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bradleyv1714 View Post
So if he would be in the low end at 30 inches deep. Would I be more towards mid if the light is about 18 -20 inches away from substrate?
You would likely have ~30 micromoles of light at that height. Not sure what you guys would consider mid-light but with CO2, that can technically grow almost any plant that exists.
__________________
Visit our site at: http://www.current-usa.com/

Follow us on facebook! https://www.facebook.com/CurrentUSA
Current USA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 05:23 AM   #298
jpappy789
Wannabe Guru
 
jpappy789's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 1,045
Default

According to the PAR thread, 30 is about the cutoff between low and medium. But again...that's according to that thread.
__________________
jpappy789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 09:34 PM   #299
Brian_Cali77
Wannabe Guru
 
Brian_Cali77's Avatar
 
PTrader: (16/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 1,364
Default

For all you Current Sat+ owners/lovers... whatever!

Come JOIN the CLUB!



http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...05#post4162105

Stop by and post pictures of your Sat+ on your tank, share your thoughts on it, and help me link to your journals!

This 'discussions' thread is pretty old and from the first entry (by me) it's very reflective of that. So on with the new chapter... the Sat+ Club
Brian_Cali77 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 10:48 AM   #300
otisinhotville
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: San Diego, Ca
Posts: 9
Default

A follow up on the problem I was having with the remote. Current sent a new fixture and everything is working fine. It is on a 55 gallon tank and it seems to be putting out enough light for my low light plants. Like the different settings.
otisinhotville is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012