Clay in soil substrate
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-09-2013, 04:39 AM   #1
Barkington
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (20/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: East Coast
Posts: 113
Default

Clay in soil substrate


How does one incorporate clay into the substrate properly? I've been considering using a clay additive in my next soil tank but I was wondering if someone could clarify a few things. Do you mix it in like mud or just roll of chunks and incorporate it into the lower portion of the soil?
Would it be possible to mix in some chemical free kitty litter? I'm not sure of the makeup of each product but I assumed the clay would have significantly more iron based on the color.

As of right now I am re-doing my 40 with a gravel cap and a 30 with blasting grit.

Last edited by Barkington; 04-09-2013 at 04:40 AM.. Reason: Because I'm bad at the internet
Barkington is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-09-2013, 09:59 PM   #2
lochaber
Wannabe Guru
 
lochaber's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 1,649
Default

The easiest way would probably be if you started with a dried clay powder (some of the artist/pottery supplies sell it this way), and just mix everything dry, and then add water.

If you end up with a slab of moist clay, you might want to try smushing it into sheets, and then forcing it through a screen or something to break it into granules. Or maybe you can add enough water to make a slurry. I don't know, I haven't had to deal with this, but it sounds like it would be more difficult then the powdered form.

I've used kitty litter before, and it pops up every now and then on the forums.

According to Walstad, the soil should provide plenty of iron, so I don't really know if it's something you need to worry about adding to a soil mix.
lochaber is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012