AZOO substrate
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-09-2003, 08:53 PM   #1
csfish
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 88
Default

Has anyone had any experience with substrate from AZOO? I'm asking because it's carried by one of the LFS for substantially less than Seachem Flourite. Thanks
csfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-09-2003, 09:35 PM   #2
m.lemay
Planted Tank Guru
 
m.lemay's Avatar
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Naugatuck, CT.
Posts: 2,647
Default

Do you have a link for details?
__________________
FILSTAR Pimp #2

75 gal heavily planted,50/50 Black beauty,Eco-complete substrate, Pressurised CO2 with solenoid, ph controller, AB Reactor 1000, 330 watts 9325K GE PC lighting,Ehiem Liquidoser, 2-Filstar xp3 canisters.
m.lemay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2003, 10:17 PM   #3
csfish
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 88
Default

I don't actually... My Google searches on "AZOO" and "AZOO plant substrate" haven't come up with much.
csfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2003, 12:06 AM   #4
Buck
Planted Tank VIP
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Lebanon, CT
Posts: 4,939
Default

Dang.... I give up, I tried to find it as well, no luck. I have never heard or seen it so if you can find a source I would love to see more on it.

Go back to the LFS and write down any info from the bag and we can take it from there.
__________________
Buck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2003, 04:58 AM   #5
csfish
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 88
Default

Ok, here's what I got.... I'll paraphase to save you from "Taiwanese English"...
- comes in a 5.4kg (12lb) bag for a 40l (10gal) tank
- looks like reddsh, clay-colored 2-3mm (small gravel) size fish food pellets
- not meant to be rinsed (hmmm. like Flourite?)
- not meant to be mixed with gravel or other substrates
- supposed to contain enough nutrients so no supplementation needed (can't remember if that meant undergravel or water column or both....)
- may have buffering effect on water, ie. increase pH, which can be compensated by increasing CO2
- should last for 15 months before being replaced

Saw a nicely planted display tank at a brick-and-mortar Big Al's that looked like it had this "Plant Growth Bed" (as it states on the label). Interesting, but not sure if I'd be into tearing down a tank to replant after 15 months.
csfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2003, 06:59 AM   #6
2la
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
2la's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 993
Default

It isn't this, is it? I think Red Sea and Azoo might be in cahoots.

http://shop.store.yahoo.com/wetpetsu...seaflorba.html
2la is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2003, 03:46 AM   #7
csfish
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 88
Default

Hmmmm, looks and sounds suspicously similar.... you might be right, 2la. At the LFS here, the AZOO substrate is going for $27.99 Cdn and the WetPets on-line store lists the Red Sea "version" for $36 US. Interesting how much money can be made when you re-package and re-label the same(?) product.
The LFS's around here sell SeaChem Flourite for $39.99 Cdn or more, so I thought I'd ask about the AZOO product.
csfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2009, 11:39 PM   #8
j66213b
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (16/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: overland park, ks
Posts: 96
Default

http://www.aquaticeco.com/subcategor...lant-Substrate 19$ or cheaper at 4 bags
j66213b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 12:02 AM   #9
leviathan0
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (20/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 582
Default

Red Sea rebrands many of Azoo's products, so what you're looking at there is indeed the same as Red Sea's Flora Base.
leviathan0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 12:07 AM   #10
Green Leaf Aquariums
Sponsor
 
Green Leaf Aquariums's Avatar
 
PTrader: (86/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: SWAMP
Posts: 4,699
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by leviathan0 View Post
Red Sea rebrands many of Azoo's products, so what you're looking at there is indeed the same as Red Sea's Flora Base.
Thats not true at all
Green Leaf Aquariums is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 12:11 AM   #11
leviathan0
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (20/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 582
Default

And I just realized this thread is 6 years old.
leviathan0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 12:15 AM   #12
Green Leaf Aquariums
Sponsor
 
Green Leaf Aquariums's Avatar
 
PTrader: (86/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: SWAMP
Posts: 4,699
Default

In that amount of time Azoo has changed ownership and reformulated there substrate, as well as added a new addition of the Black version. The newer version is not to be compared to substrate from 7 years ago.

Much has changed as we grew older and more wise
Green Leaf Aquariums is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 12:25 AM   #13
leviathan0
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (20/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 582
Default

But wouldn't the one they're making for Red Sea now also be the new one? Or are they just ordering the old formula?
leviathan0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 12:28 AM   #14
Green Leaf Aquariums
Sponsor
 
Green Leaf Aquariums's Avatar
 
PTrader: (86/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: SWAMP
Posts: 4,699
Default

Those are 2 completely different companies all together, and completely different substrates. Most likely old stock on the shelf.
Green Leaf Aquariums is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 12:35 AM   #15
leviathan0
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (20/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 582
Default

They are two different companies, but Red Sea does rebrand Azoo products, so the substrate (at least in some point in time) is the same.
leviathan0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Soil Substrate review and coment request pastorww Substrate 5 05-06-2005 12:59 PM
Poop on substrate soil/rock/sand mitchell2345 Substrate 9 08-10-2004 01:29 AM
About time for a real substrate solution... Rolo Substrate 15 01-09-2004 12:44 PM
New Substrate Over Existing Substrate g8wayg8r Substrate 3 12-24-2003 07:44 PM
Nutrients in Substrate aquaphish General Planted Tank Discussion 6 03-10-2003 01:48 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012