New 60L planted setup!
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Tank Journals

Old 04-05-2013, 02:19 PM   #1
Stephanie1985

PTrader: (0/0%)

New 60L planted setup!

Hello! New forum member here looking for some advice.
I have been keeping fish for many years, and very sadly just lost the entire contents of my 60L community tank that had been set-up for 5 years I'm not 100% sure what happened as I was away on holiday and my partner was caring for the fish, and one day they were swimming, and the next they were all dead. Apparently there had been several power cuts with the power coming on and off so I am guessing either the heater shorted and cooked them, or there was some kind of electrical surge. As a result, I have decided to completely restart my tank.

Although I had plants in my old tank it was more of a tank with some plants, rather than a planted tank and I want to focus more on getting a nice planted set-up before adding any fish.
So I have decided on putting down 2 inches of eco-complete substrate, and then 1 inch of sand.
Can anyone give me some advice on what to do next? I.e some good plants to start off with, I don't have any C02 input as of yet, and what kind of fertilizers to start off with?
I hope you guys can help!
Stephanie1985 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-05-2013, 05:01 PM   #2
SomeCanuck
Planted Member

PTrader: (1/100%)