Using snails to test for copper contamination is a used fish tank?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Shrimp & Other Invertebrates


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-04-2013, 04:36 PM   #1
Aplomado
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Aplomado's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 694
Default

Using snails to test for copper contamination is a used fish tank?


Hello,

I found a used 20 gallon tank. The seals are white colored and watertight. I wanted to set it up as a dedicated shrimp tank, but was considering if it may have copper contamination from medicine. I have no idea if has of course.

After washing it out well, I was thinking about filling it up and throwing some snails in it, and see how they do.

Would that be a good way to gauge if the tank was safe for shrimp?

Thanks.
Aplomado is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-04-2013, 04:47 PM   #2
somewhatshocked
Obsessed? Maybe
 
somewhatshocked's Avatar
 
PTrader: (438/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 11,520
Default

Just clean it really well, let it dry out and you'll probably be good to go.

If there's any real concern, pick up an API Copper test kit. Usually about $5 and should be easy to locate at just about any LFS or online.
somewhatshocked is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-04-2013, 04:48 PM   #3
bradlgt21
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 176
Default

No most pest snails can handle more copper then shrimp. So you can't just assume the shrimp will be fine because the snails are fine. If you really want to test they sell test strips for copper, they are hard to read though. Another option is to get a copper remover which might be smart because copper can be in your water supply too. Seachem has Cuprisorb which is like carbon you put in your filter that removes copper.
bradlgt21 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012