saying goodbye to the "hail mary" of gas exchange
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Fertilizers and Water Parameters


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-03-2013, 04:51 PM   #1
WheeledGoat
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
WheeledGoat's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Chicago
Posts: 324
Default

saying goodbye to the "hail mary" of gas exchange


So now I'm on the eve of introducing pressurized co2 to my tank via inline reactor.

I've read that co2 easily degasses. Up until now, I've had the filter output 1/2 out of the water, to ensure o2 exchange. But the more threads I read, the more I think I'm gonna wanna cut that out.

My main concern is ensuring sufficint o2 exchange for the fishies. Also, I'd like to create a situation at the surface to maintain somewhat stable rate of co2 degassing, thereby a stable level of dissolved co2 in the water.

How exactly does everybody have their cannister output set? Slightly raised to where it breaks the water surface, or submerged but causing waves? Can I depend on a heavily planted tank and minimal surface movement creating enough o2 for the livestock?
WheeledGoat is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-03-2013, 06:17 PM   #2
happi
Planted Tank Guru
 
happi's Avatar
 
PTrader: (20/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 2,769
Send a message via Yahoo to happi
Default

i have mine set to create waves
__________________
happi is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-03-2013, 07:41 PM   #3
WheeledGoat
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
WheeledGoat's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Chicago
Posts: 324
Default

mild enough that you don't hear the breaking of the water surface?
WheeledGoat is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-03-2013, 08:27 PM   #4
gSTiTcH
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
gSTiTcH's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 838
Default

My output disturbs the water not at all. Plants do fine for oxygen exchange.
gSTiTcH is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-03-2013, 08:30 PM   #5
creekbottom
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 708
Default

^ Agreed, I have a 20 tall and a 10 running pressurized. Both without any surface disruption. I use a drop checker and it stays green, and the fish haven't noticed a difference. The most important thing will be to watch the livestock, if they are gasping at the surface then you need more O2 in the water
creekbottom is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-03-2013, 09:06 PM   #6
WheeledGoat
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
WheeledGoat's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Chicago
Posts: 324
Default

sweet! thanks for the replies!!

what good news.
WheeledGoat is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-03-2013, 10:17 PM   #7
HD Blazingwolf
Planted Tank Guru
 
HD Blazingwolf's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,907
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WheeledGoat View Post
sweet! thanks for the replies!!

what good news.
if ever oxygen becomes ur true concern
get a wet/dry filter

but be prepared to buy more co2. its cheap. a lot cheaper than fish if you go the high light, high co2 route
__________________
HD Blazingwolf is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-03-2013, 10:47 PM   #8
WheeledGoat
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
WheeledGoat's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Chicago
Posts: 324
Default

i barely know what a wet/dry filter is - don't ya need a sump for that?

i think i'd just move the filter outlet back up to break the surface of the water, or add a bubbler, before i went THAT far down the rabbit hole!!

hahah. but who knows. the wife & kids are out of the house this friday night and I've got a major overhaul planned - not only am I hooking up the co2 via inline reactor, but i figured i'd throw in the UV light while I was at it. And I just now ordered an inline heater through amazon to go with it all!

I hope it all goes well, cause I quit drinkin a few months ago...
WheeledGoat is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-03-2013, 10:49 PM   #9
xmas_one
Planted Tank Guru
 
xmas_one's Avatar
 
PTrader: (17/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 3,256
Default

I run a healthy ripple on mine, just almost splashing.
xmas_one is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-03-2013, 11:22 PM   #10
Dave-H
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Denver, CO & Phang-Nga, Thailand
Posts: 2,387
Default

In my experience, as long as there is some current and there isn't any film over the surface, your O2 will be ok. Even the slightest agitation seems to be enough.
__________________

"The fewer our wants, the nearer we resemble the gods." Socrates

Dave-H is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-03-2013, 11:51 PM   #11
Jeff5614
Planted Tank Guru
 
Jeff5614's Avatar
 
PTrader: (52/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: TN
Posts: 2,720
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xmas_one View Post
I run a healthy ripple on mine, just almost splashing.
Ditto.
Jeff5614 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-04-2013, 02:18 AM   #12
VeeSe
Wannabe Guru
 
VeeSe's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,422
Send a message via AIM to VeeSe Send a message via MSN to VeeSe
Default

I have it parallel to the water surface but close enough to the top that it makes ripples. Same with a Koralia Nano on the other side of my tank.
__________________
VeeSe is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-04-2013, 02:32 AM   #13
UDGags
aka Nick
 
UDGags's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 900
Send a message via AIM to UDGags Send a message via Yahoo to UDGags
Default

My wet/dry outputs break the surface and makes two waterfalls in my 125g
__________________
UDGags is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-04-2013, 07:03 AM   #14
Skunky
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Southwestern NY
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WheeledGoat View Post
So now I'm on the eve of introducing pressurized co2 to my tank via inline reactor.

I've read that co2 easily degasses. Up until now, I've had the filter output 1/2 out of the water, to ensure o2 exchange. But the more threads I read, the more I think I'm gonna wanna cut that out.

My main concern is ensuring sufficint o2 exchange for the fishies. Also, I'd like to create a situation at the surface to maintain somewhat stable rate of co2 degassing, thereby a stable level of dissolved co2 in the water.

How exactly does everybody have their cannister output set? Slightly raised to where it breaks the water surface, or submerged but causing waves? Can I depend on a heavily planted tank and minimal surface movement creating enough o2 for the livestock?
I'm kind of at the same point you are right now with the introduction of co2. I got differing advice about o2 and surface turbulence. When I cut the bubbler down during the day as someone advised, I saw fish gasping. Now I have it running full on at night and about half on during the day. It seems to be working.

I would say to just watch your fish as you make this change. If you have to be away during the day, start your co2 at a low bps and check things when you get home. If your fishies are at the top seeking o2, provide some more for them or reduce your co2.

I'm as new at this as you are. I'm watching my fish for any distress. So far, so good. Good luck and let us know how it goes!

I threw in some duckweed as added security....
Skunky is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-04-2013, 02:03 PM   #15
WheeledGoat
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
WheeledGoat's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Chicago
Posts: 324
Default

I guess I could google it, but since I'm already here.... why is duckweed security?
WheeledGoat is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012