Seachem Flourite - New 75 gl Tank - Page 2
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-07-2013, 07:38 AM   #16
OVT
Carpe Diem
 
OVT's Avatar
 
PTrader: (136/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: SF East Bay Area
Posts: 4,479
Default

Seachem Flourite - New 75 gl Tank


Quote:
Originally Posted by OVT View Post
Flourite needs a lot of washing before putting it in the tank. I would take it out and rinse... a lot.
It has been a week and I still stand by my initial comment.
__________________
Courtesy * Integrity * Perseverance * Indominable Spirit * and Self Control
Tenets of TKD
OVT is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-07-2013, 08:01 AM   #17
jamiehaslett
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mississauga, Ontario
Posts: 8
Default

I bought two bags of the Flourite red, which seem to be bigger pieces and rinsed quite easily. I put the two bags over top and everything seems to be much better now and has settled down.

Thanks everyone for your help it is much appreciated.

Jamie
jamiehaslett is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-20-2013, 08:59 PM   #18
Relic1882
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Northeast Pennsylvania
Posts: 15
Default

I'd like to chime in too. Also I have a question.

I just bought a bag of red Flourite because I want to start planting my tank and I heard good things from everyone about it. I rinsed the crap out of it before I mixed it with my natural gravel. I've never had a substrate this dusty so obviously I underestimated it.

Right now my black moore is back in his tiny 5 gallon with nothing else around him. I feel bad lol.

I rinsed the flourite, added it to the tank, realized how screwed I was, and did a full water change. I added the water back in very slow but it's still about the same cloudiness after an hour. I'm able to see the filter stem coming down the back so that's a plus I guess.

Any idea on how long you think before it's safe enough to put the fish back where he belongs?

Thanks!
Relic1882 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Tags
flourite, flourite substrate, seachem flourite, substrate

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012