What light for a 20 gallon long?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Lighting


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-27-2013, 04:03 AM   #1
Scottyhorse
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Washington State
Posts: 263
Default

What light for a 20 gallon long?


I am wondering what light would provide med-high light for a 20L. Also, could I use liquid co2 with high light instead of pressurized co2? I'd like to grow high light plants, but I can't afford to do pressurized co2 and my room is too cold for DIY
I'd like to spend under $125 but the less the better. If it only grows medium light plants that is okay also.
Scottyhorse is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-28-2013, 05:36 AM   #2
talontsiawd
Planted Tank Guru
 
talontsiawd's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Concord, CA
Posts: 3,991
Send a message via AIM to talontsiawd
Default

This fixture may be a bit on the low side as many use it for low tech. I found that I needed to use Excel and was growing some plants nicely with CO2. They are cheap and compact but some haven't found them to be reliable-

http://www.petsmart.com/product/inde...uctId=11248153

Coarlife made a PC fixture that worked great for me but a bit on the high side, I had to hang it. Can't find it online. I wouldn't pay much money for it as it is outdated but I found one on clearance for $20. You may be able to find one for cheap.
talontsiawd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 05:42 AM   #3
xmas_one
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (17/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 3,245
Default

You can't have a Maserati on a Vespa budget buddy.
xmas_one is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 06:00 AM   #4
talontsiawd
Planted Tank Guru
 
talontsiawd's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Concord, CA
Posts: 3,991
Send a message via AIM to talontsiawd
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xmas_one View Post
You can't have a Maserati on a Vespa budget buddy.
You kind of can for a 20 long without CO2. Even a good T8 fixture could work.
talontsiawd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 07:11 AM   #5
Chulios66
Planted Member
 
Chulios66's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Filer,ID
Posts: 265
Default

Right now, I am using a 29g high aquarium light that I bought for $5.00 for my 20g. It is the same size fit for it.
Chulios66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 05:27 PM   #6
Scottyhorse
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Washington State
Posts: 263
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by talontsiawd View Post
This fixture may be a bit on the low side as many use it for low tech. I found that I needed to use Excel and was growing some plants nicely with CO2. They are cheap and compact but some haven't found them to be reliable-

http://www.petsmart.com/product/inde...uctId=11248153

Coarlife made a PC fixture that worked great for me but a bit on the high side, I had to hang it. Can't find it online. I wouldn't pay much money for it as it is outdated but I found one on clearance for $20. You may be able to find one for cheap.
I have that first one on one of my tanks. It's pretty basic.
I'll look around for that Coarlife one.
Scottyhorse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 05:46 PM   #7
Adrand
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Usa, usa
Posts: 163
Default Re: What light for a 20 gallon long?

I have that aqueon t5no fixture on my 20long. Very happy with it so far. Growing vals, rotala colorata (grows like a weed), anubia, amazon swords, and xmas moss. The fixture currently sits on an open top but i wish it was a little elevated as the light seems a bit concentrated on the middle. And worth noting is currently it has the original 6700 bulb and an actinic bulb. Yes an actinic. I was previously using the fixture on a 29 gallon reef tank before i upgraded to t5HO on that. I just haven't gotten around to swapping out the bulb in the past 9 months lol but everything grows great. I definitely recommend the fixture.
Adrand is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 05:47 PM   #8
talontsiawd
Planted Tank Guru
 
talontsiawd's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Concord, CA
Posts: 3,991
Send a message via AIM to talontsiawd
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scottyhorse View Post
I have that first one on one of my tanks. It's pretty basic.
I'll look around for that Coarlife one.
The problem you will have is that the fixture I linked and something with more light will be that the fixture with more light will likely have significantly more light. I feel like a 2 bulb T5HO, for example, is way to much light without CO2, especially if it has even decent reflectors, much less good ones. You may try a single bulb T5HO which should be in your budget, or try to find a dual bulb one where you can either take one bulb out or switch one bulb off.
talontsiawd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 05:48 PM   #9
hambone870
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
hambone870's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: illinois wisconsin border
Posts: 797
Default

i just received the finnex ray2 a few days ago, under 100$ shipped to my doorstep.

should provide the high light your looking for but would imagine that i will require some sort of co2 to keep the algae in check

this is going on my 20L setup as well
__________________
It is better to travel well than to arrive.

[Hambone's House]

[Culture Club]
hambone870 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 10:33 PM   #10
Scottyhorse
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Washington State
Posts: 263
Default

I'm going to be dosing liquid co2 with glute.
Scottyhorse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 12:59 AM   #11
ehorn
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: City Of Trees
Posts: 34
Default

IMHO, if you desire a med --> high light setup, then you should put those funds towards pressurized co2 first and use 6500k cfls as an initial lighting solution and upgrade lighting if and when funds permit. This setup will give very good results.

If you go med--> high light without pressurized co2 it will be nothing but heartaches dealing with algae.
ehorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 01:18 AM   #12
Wayne Dwops
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: san jose
Posts: 214
Default

I agree with ehorn...I got two 13watt 6500k cfls plus aluminum dome lamps for under $20 even though I would love a finnex LED fixture. Without co2 there is no point to having high lighting (imo) and going cheap with lighting allows me to get co2, then i can save my money and upgrade to nice LEDs later.
Wayne Dwops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 07:19 AM   #13
Scottyhorse
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Washington State
Posts: 263
Default

I know of people who have very high light tanks with only glute as their co2 source. I would like to try this.
If I could find a pressurized co2 system that only cost half an arm, then maybe I would consider it. But there seems to be so many things that can go wrong with it and I am going to be keeping sensitive fish in the tank.
If anyone could direct me to a pressurized co2 system that is within my 14 year old budget, I'll love you forever
Scottyhorse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 04:12 PM   #14
ehorn
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: City Of Trees
Posts: 34
Default

PM these guys and talk to them, they may have some ideas for pressurized co2 in the "half an arm" price range..


http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/member.php?u=18901
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/member.php?u=20708
ehorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 06:28 PM   #15
Scottyhorse
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Washington State
Posts: 263
Default

Thanks, I PM'd them
Scottyhorse is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012