2 regulators from one tank?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-30-2003, 10:57 PM   #1
DanConnor
Algae Grower
 
DanConnor's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 87
Default

I have a co2 system in my basement feeding the calcium reactor at the sump of my reef tank. To save $$, I would like to run a line upstairs to where I intend to put the planted tank. I don't thing a Y fitting with airline valves would provide good enough control. Probably the best thing is to have 2 low pressure regulators, but I don't have the faintest idea how to do that. Any suggestions?
DanConnor is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-30-2003, 10:59 PM   #2
GDominy
Planted Tank VIP
 
GDominy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Victoria,British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 3,363
Default

You can purchase needle valves that you can daisy chain so you can get fine output controll to each of your devices. This is probably what you are looking for....
GDominy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2003, 11:06 PM   #3
m.lemay
Planted Tank Guru
 
m.lemay's Avatar
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Naugatuck, CT.
Posts: 2,647
Default

Something like this
__________________
FILSTAR Pimp #2

75 gal heavily planted,50/50 Black beauty,Eco-complete substrate, Pressurised CO2 with solenoid, ph controller, AB Reactor 1000, 330 watts 9325K GE PC lighting,Ehiem Liquidoser, 2-Filstar xp3 canisters.
m.lemay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2003, 11:06 PM   #4
mario
Planted Member
 
mario's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Boston, MA, USA
Posts: 287
Default

Go to the aquabotanic store and search for the term 'manifold'. You will find 2-, 3- and 4-way manifolds just for the purpose you are describing.

Cheers... mario
mario is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2003, 11:38 PM   #5
DanConnor
Algae Grower
 
DanConnor's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 87
Default

you guys are the best!
DanConnor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2003, 12:24 PM   #6
Rex Grigg
Planted Tank Guru
 
Rex Grigg's Avatar
 
PTrader: (65/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Portland Orygun
Posts: 9,600
Send a message via ICQ to Rex Grigg Send a message via AIM to Rex Grigg
Default

Or you could get a simple bar-stock manifold which would run about $5 and a extra needle valve.

The real question is how far are you going to run this second line? If it's any distance at all and you own the house think very hard about using a small diameter copper tubing to run it close to the tank.
Rex Grigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2003, 05:20 PM   #7
DanConnor
Algae Grower
 
DanConnor's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 87
Default

Yeah? Its around 20 feet total, and I do own the house. I will use CO2 line rather than regular airline... why do I need copper?
DanConnor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2003, 09:18 PM   #8
m.lemay
Planted Tank Guru
 
m.lemay's Avatar
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Naugatuck, CT.
Posts: 2,647
Default

CO2 will permeate any sort of plastic tubing over long distances. The minute volumes you'll be pushing thru such a long run of tubing could mean that you might have to pump 3 times as much co2 thru the tube just to get some out the other end. Your best bet might be to install a tee before the first needle valve then run copper tubing and install the second needle valve close to the second tank. This will also allow you to get more accurate dispensation at the second tank. Who wants to adjust the needle valve twenty feet away then run over to the second tank to see what your getting. :roll: Those manifolds are nice if all the tanks are close together, but if the tanks are far away, you can see the kind of problems you might run in to.


Marcel
__________________
FILSTAR Pimp #2

75 gal heavily planted,50/50 Black beauty,Eco-complete substrate, Pressurised CO2 with solenoid, ph controller, AB Reactor 1000, 330 watts 9325K GE PC lighting,Ehiem Liquidoser, 2-Filstar xp3 canisters.
m.lemay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2003, 11:25 PM   #9
Vinlo
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Vinlo's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 719
Default

Just out of curiosity the flexible stuff you buy to hook up water to your refrigerator would work good right? Super easy to run that stuff.
Vinlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2003, 01:17 AM   #10
Rex Grigg
Planted Tank Guru
 
Rex Grigg's Avatar
 
PTrader: (65/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Portland Orygun
Posts: 9,600
Send a message via ICQ to Rex Grigg Send a message via AIM to Rex Grigg
Default

Marcel hit the nail square on the head. If it's 20 feet you want to run copper. Just follow what he said and you will be fine.
Rex Grigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2003, 02:22 PM   #11
DanConnor
Algae Grower
 
DanConnor's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 87
Default

Okay, I will look into that. I have no idea how to do copper fittings and ones that fit onto the flexible tubing, but I guess if I stand around in home depot long enough I'll figure it out...
DanConnor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2003, 01:45 AM   #12
Rex Grigg
Planted Tank Guru
 
Rex Grigg's Avatar
 
PTrader: (65/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Portland Orygun
Posts: 9,600
Send a message via ICQ to Rex Grigg Send a message via AIM to Rex Grigg
Default

For the copper you want to use compression fittings. Then just use a compression to IP fitting for the needle valve.
Rex Grigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2003, 04:23 PM   #13
digger
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 519
Send a message via ICQ to digger
Default

I'm familliar with compression fittings, but what is an IP fitting?
digger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2003, 02:14 AM   #14
Rex Grigg
Planted Tank Guru
 
Rex Grigg's Avatar
 
PTrader: (65/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Portland Orygun
Posts: 9,600
Send a message via ICQ to Rex Grigg Send a message via AIM to Rex Grigg
Default

Iron Pipe fitting. Normal type pipe fitting.
Rex Grigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is 130watt enough light for a 72g tank? Poohbee Lighting 5 06-09-2004 02:11 AM
How to move fish from one tank to another? Aqua Dave Fish 9 03-15-2004 06:22 PM
Lighting for the odd size tank anonapersona Lighting 23 10-09-2003 09:45 PM
Tank support anonapersona Equipment 10 10-04-2003 10:59 PM
New Tank / Question Can you help/pics enclosed Angel12 General Planted Tank Discussion 8 04-28-2003 11:26 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012