Murky water, noticed algea on glass... - Page 3
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Algae


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-20-2013, 07:10 PM   #31
benjaminleebates
Algae Grower
 
benjaminleebates's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 148
Default

Okay, good info!
benjaminleebates is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-20-2013, 09:24 PM   #32
puopg
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (14/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 759
Default

I think the bacteria will re colonize the new media relatively quickly since they also live in the substrate and all around the tank. Is this incorrect?
puopg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2013, 03:21 PM   #33
benjaminleebates
Algae Grower
 
benjaminleebates's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 148
Default

I would believe you are correct...
benjaminleebates is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 08:23 PM   #34
benjaminleebates
Algae Grower
 
benjaminleebates's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 148
Default Update

Water stayed murky for quite some time and GSA would grow each week, just a little, but still annoying, considering how great my tank was!
So, I use a little LUX meter on my phone to check the lights, one was at 1000 and the other at 1300. I don't know what these readings mean, or how accurate they are, but the difference is what I am interested in. So I swapped out the 1000 with a new T8 6500K. The new bulb is at 1800 BTW.
So that was the first thing, the second issue that I can think of, is that it's been quite a while (4 months or so) since I place my osmocote capsule in the substrate. They have 14% Phosphorus, so I am hoping that putting a bunch of new capsules in the substrate can help get the balance back...
I'll keep y'all posted.
benjaminleebates is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 04:02 PM   #35
EricSilver
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 439
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gSTiTcH View Post
Wait... You CHANGED the filter? :<

You should only change the filter if it's falling apart. Otherwise, just clean the sucker in tank water from a water change. Replacing media can and will trigger a mini nitrogen cycle.
So very true.

For some unknown reason, I decided to rinse the media in my canister filter three days ago. Water went from gin-clear to hazy blue.
__________________
Tank: 40 Gallon Breeder w/Eco Complete ||
Aquasun 156W Quad 5000K || SunSun 302 Canister Filter (Sunsun Pimp #77) || Pressurized CO2 || Dual Current Gamma 15W UV Sterilizers || Hydor Inline Heater
EricSilver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 05:19 PM   #36
benjaminleebates
Algae Grower
 
benjaminleebates's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 148
Default

I think I need to mess less.
I went on vaca, it was very murky when I got back two weeks later. I changed the water and went away on business. Not to bad when I got back two weeks later. I think my 50% every week might be the culprit, in conjunction with over fertilizing; and over rinsing of the filter media. I haven't added ferts for two to three weeks and the water is clearing up. It must be that the plants are doing fine (they are still growing like weeds) and the algae was sucking up the extra ferts and growing. I may fert once a week and maybe wc every other week if the levels are good.
benjaminleebates is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 05:30 PM   #37
Jahn
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Jahn's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: NYC
Posts: 683
Default

Oh, and I wouldn't use the carbon filter either - use it just to take meds out of the water. Use another sponge filter in its place. And yep, just swish the pre-filter and filter in the water you just removed to get the big bits off and pop them back in - don't run it under the tap or in RO and totally get it whistle white, that'll wipe out the good bacteria.
Jahn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
tank algea lighting murky

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012