Decent regulator?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-20-2003, 03:46 PM   #1
DLeDeaux
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
DLeDeaux's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 377
Send a message via ICQ to DLeDeaux Send a message via AIM to DLeDeaux Send a message via MSN to DLeDeaux
Default

There is actually a Harbor Freight just down the street from my house that has this regulator in stock. Anyone tried it? They have one under the counter with my name on it right now.

http://www.harborfreight.com/cpi/cta...emnumber=47259

CO2/ARGON FLOWGAUGE REGULATOR



Designed for light- and medium-duty MIG/TIG welding jobs
Cast brass with steel body gauge and chrome-plated regulator
Durable phenolic PVC knob
0.960-14 RH N.G.O. regulator thread with 0.830-14 N.G.O. adapter



ITEM 47259-0VGA

$29.99
__________________
--- Dave ---
DLeDeaux is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-20-2003, 10:36 PM   #2
DLeDeaux
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
DLeDeaux's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 377
Send a message via ICQ to DLeDeaux Send a message via AIM to DLeDeaux Send a message via MSN to DLeDeaux
Default

Ok, I picked it up. I'm trying to get the barb off, but dang if that sucker ain't on there tight.

Anyone have any suggestions for getting it off without seriously damaging the brass? Such a soft metal. :shock:
__________________
--- Dave ---
DLeDeaux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2003, 11:33 PM   #3
Momotaro
Doesn't like Kool-Aid
 
Momotaro's Avatar
 
PTrader: (52/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Hawthorne, New Jersey
Posts: 10,125
Default

Heat it a little? Dip it in hot water?

Mike
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Momotaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2003, 01:20 PM   #4
GulfCoastAquarian
Planted Tank VIP
 
GulfCoastAquarian's Avatar
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 3,578
Send a message via ICQ to GulfCoastAquarian Send a message via Yahoo to GulfCoastAquarian
Default

Did it include a fitting to mate to a CO2 bottle? The fitting shown in the picture seems as if it wouldn't fit.
If it works, that's a heck of a steal!
__________________
- Sam P -
plantedtanker in limbo - all tanks currently in storage
GulfCoastAquarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2003, 01:31 PM   #5
m.lemay
Planted Tank Guru
 
m.lemay's Avatar
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Naugatuck, CT.
Posts: 2,647
Default

Thats a co2/argon fitting. I had a similar regulator that I used in the beginning but I had to buy an adapter to get it to screw into the co2 tank. That regulator has a flow guage on the secondary side which really doesn't tell you how much pressure is on the output side. It works by forcing gas thru a predetermined orifice size and the "flow guage" is really just a recalibrated pressure guage to show flow thru that particular orifice. If you remove the orifice or drill it out, the flow readings on that guage don't apply. IMO, you should return that thing before you have a $29 paperweight. :lol:

Marcel
__________________
FILSTAR Pimp #2

75 gal heavily planted,50/50 Black beauty,Eco-complete substrate, Pressurised CO2 with solenoid, ph controller, AB Reactor 1000, 330 watts 9325K GE PC lighting,Ehiem Liquidoser, 2-Filstar xp3 canisters.
m.lemay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2003, 02:33 PM   #6
DLeDeaux
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
DLeDeaux's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 377
Send a message via ICQ to DLeDeaux Send a message via AIM to DLeDeaux Send a message via MSN to DLeDeaux
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GulfCoastAquarian
Did it include a fitting to mate to a CO2 bottle? The fitting shown in the picture seems as if it wouldn't fit.
If it works, that's a heck of a steal!
It included the fitting.

Here it is mounted on my bottle:


Marcel, I am a newbie when it comes to pressurized CO2 systems so I'm not too sure of what all that you told me means. Unfortunantly, I'm really trying to stay under a certain budget right now to keep the wife happy. So finding a $29 regulator was a God send. If I can get by with this regulator for now just to get this project off the ground then I'd really like to do it. It's gotta beat a yeast system, doesn't it? :P
__________________
--- Dave ---
DLeDeaux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2003, 05:26 PM   #7
m.lemay
Planted Tank Guru
 
m.lemay's Avatar
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Naugatuck, CT.
Posts: 2,647
Default

Wow, it came with the adapter? It took me 2 weeks to find an adapter for my old setup. Thats a huge obstacle outta the way.

Now alls you need is a good needle valve to install between the barb and regulator.

I didn't mean to sound too negative, its just that I went the cheapo route and struggled to get the thing leak free, and a consistent bubble rate. I was just trying to save you from the same struggle.

Marcel
__________________
FILSTAR Pimp #2

75 gal heavily planted,50/50 Black beauty,Eco-complete substrate, Pressurised CO2 with solenoid, ph controller, AB Reactor 1000, 330 watts 9325K GE PC lighting,Ehiem Liquidoser, 2-Filstar xp3 canisters.
m.lemay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2003, 06:09 PM   #8
Scorpion
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Scorpion's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Olympia, WA
Posts: 637
Default

I must buy one as a backup.
__________________
Robert
ESTJ (v)
EPC Member #27
Scorpion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2003, 04:41 AM   #9
Daemonfly
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Daemonfly's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 355
Default

I was considering getting this regulator, but noticed it didn't have the right tank connector

Now that I see it comes with an adapter, I'm deffinately getting this now!
Daemonfly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2003, 05:04 AM   #10
Scorpion
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Scorpion's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Olympia, WA
Posts: 637
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daemonfly
I was considering getting this regulator, but noticed it didn't have the right tank connector

Now that I see it comes with an adapter, I'm deffinately getting this now!
It does have the "adapter" for co2; read the posts carefully
__________________
Robert
ESTJ (v)
EPC Member #27
Scorpion is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Azoo regulator does not fit CO2 bottle? (2003) emernal Equipment 54 02-17-2011 11:35 PM
Pressurized CO2: regulator, needle valve Inzeos General Planted Tank Discussion 19 09-25-2004 06:47 AM
Milwaukee SMS122 and Regulator Questions aychamo Equipment 6 07-13-2004 10:37 PM
Faulty CO2 regulator? digger Equipment 3 05-22-2003 01:38 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012