Change of direction .... Workable?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Low Tech Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-13-2013, 12:49 AM   #1
mcaquatic
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Hoboken, NJ
Posts: 728
Default

Change of direction .... Workable?


I have a 90g high tech moderately to heavily planted tank that I just don't love. Its just not the right time for me for this tank. So its a standard 90g, with 3 48 inch T5H0 lamps raised 1 inch, CO2 with drop checker, EI, and sand substrate. I want to get rid of the bulk of the plants and Co2. Instead if possible wouldn't mind having this tank low tech wtih my melon sword, anubias, and a monster of a Aponogeton Ulvaceus. How can I run my light fixture to keep these plants without Co2 and not have tons of algae? Also does low tech change the EI dosing regime? Thanks

mcaquatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-13-2013, 02:22 AM   #2
cah925
Fear the Swamp!
 
cah925's Avatar
 
PTrader: (173/100%)
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Riverview, FL
Posts: 2,504
Default

Try running just one or two bulbs, also reduce the duration/time the lights are on. Ferts should be cut back too. You will have to play with this to find a good balance with the new system. If you have a plain sand substrate, you could always cut out the EI and use root tabs instead. Some K may still need to be added though.
cah925 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 02:44 AM   #3
mcaquatic
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Hoboken, NJ
Posts: 728
Default

thanks for the input. I was thinking about only running one or two bulbs, but I really like how my bulbs compliment each other. If I lift the lights 5 or 6 inches do you think I could run all three? Also it is plain sand.
mcaquatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 12:49 PM   #4
Zorfox
Wannabe Guru
 
Zorfox's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 1,518
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcaquatic View Post
I was thinking about only running one or two bulbs, but I really like how my bulbs compliment each other. If I lift the lights 5 or 6 inches do you think I could run all three? Also it is plain sand.
Have you read Hoppy's sticky in the lighting section, Lighting an Aquarium with PAR instead of Watts? Using all three bulbs suspended depends on the bulb brand and ballasts. You can put window screen over the surface to reduce the par value by 30% as well if you want to keep the same colors. My guess is that all three would be too much for a low tech but it depends on those variables. Otherwise nice looking tank!
Zorfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2013, 02:05 AM   #5
mcaquatic
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Hoboken, NJ
Posts: 728
Default

I guess what i could do as a compromise is lift the lights five inches and run Co2 on a medium set up. This way I should be able to run my lights, keep the plants I like, and not have too much of a head ache. Or at least it sounds good.
mcaquatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2013, 10:51 PM   #6
mcaquatic
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Hoboken, NJ
Posts: 728
Default

ok I am going to try the acrylic risers. Would you go with the five inch or 7 inch? If I go 7 inch do I risk going low light? I think based on the chart I would be ok.
mcaquatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2013, 03:50 AM   #7
mcaquatic
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Hoboken, NJ
Posts: 728
Default

any thoughts?
mcaquatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2013, 04:54 AM   #8
Hoppy
Planted Tank Guru
 
Hoppy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (75/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 18,868
Default

What brand lights do you have? Is it one fixture with 3 bulbs, or what?
__________________
Hoppy
Hoppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2013, 09:47 AM   #9
mcaquatic
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Hoboken, NJ
Posts: 728
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hoppy View Post
What brand lights do you have? Is it one fixture with 3 bulbs, or what?
its a catalina fixture that contains 3 bulbs. it is not the extra wide housing. I am running midday, aqua flora, and wavepoint red bulbs.
mcaquatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 03:24 AM   #10
Hoppy
Planted Tank Guru
 
Hoppy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (75/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 18,868
Default

You can't expect to get low light with that fixture raised only 6 inches. Each bulb is probably giving you about 30 micromols of PAR when 28 inches from the substrate. That alone is good low light. Even two bulbs might put you in the high medium light area. To be sure what PAR you are getting you will need to get a PAR meter or a lux meter to measure the actual intensity at that distance.
__________________
Hoppy
Hoppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 11:02 AM   #11
mcaquatic
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Hoboken, NJ
Posts: 728
Default

Thanks hoppy. I mentioned in an earlier post I will do this as a medium light with Co2. I want to move away from the high light.
mcaquatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012