new 2.5gal algae problems
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Planted Nano Tanks


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-16-2006, 04:29 PM   #1
messy_da_legend
Planted Member
 
messy_da_legend's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Ipswich UK
Posts: 198
Angry

new 2.5gal algae problems


hi i have just set up my new little 2.5 gal nano, and everything seems to be getting covered in algae, especially my riccia. the substrate is flourite and i am currently running a fluval 1plus. is there anything i can do to stop this growth of algae? its kind of a darkish green slimy looking stuff
messy_da_legend is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-16-2006, 04:39 PM   #2
dudleystinks
Planted Member
 
dudleystinks's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK, Leicestershire
Posts: 171
Default

hey what lights do you have on it
__________________


please comment on my 20 gallon photo album
dudleystinks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2006, 04:48 PM   #3
messy_da_legend
Planted Member
 
messy_da_legend's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Ipswich UK
Posts: 198
Default

i have a standard 15w flourescant 18" (too long but only light i have available) is this too strong?
messy_da_legend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2006, 05:47 PM   #4
random_alias
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
random_alias's Avatar
 
PTrader: (20/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: NC
Posts: 840
Default

What are your ammonia (NH4) levels?

Were you able to seed the filter with old filter material or mulm from an established tank? (I ask because that isn't always an available option.)

Are you dosing any fertilizers?

Do you have any Excel?

Do you have any animals in the aquarium?

Have you realigned the phase inducers and run a level 3 diagnostic on the power couplings?

I don't think a 15w NO Fluoro is too much and like you said part of that light isn't hitting the tank. I am running 2 13w PC lights over my 2.5g
__________________
"Insanity: doing [or asking] the same thing over and over again and expecting different results."
random_alias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2006, 05:55 PM   #5
messy_da_legend
Planted Member
 
messy_da_legend's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Ipswich UK
Posts: 198
Default

just tested the ammonia and it is between 0 and 0.25ppm (cant tell not very clear colour chart). i added an old filter pad from my established 30gal when i set it up about 2 weeks ago
i have added a little bit of floragrow a couple of days ago.

i dont have any excel.
currently i only have some 1 month old kribensis fry in it
messy_da_legend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2006, 05:57 PM   #6
random_alias
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
random_alias's Avatar
 
PTrader: (20/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: NC
Posts: 840
Default

And the phase inducers?


What kind of algae do you have?
__________________
"Insanity: doing [or asking] the same thing over and over again and expecting different results."
random_alias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2006, 06:01 PM   #7
messy_da_legend
Planted Member
 
messy_da_legend's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Ipswich UK
Posts: 198
Default

dont know what type it is but it is kind of dark green, slimey looking and is mainly tangled in my riccia and other stem plant (dont know what it is)

how do you post pictures on here?
messy_da_legend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2006, 06:06 PM   #8
random_alias
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
random_alias's Avatar
 
PTrader: (20/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: NC
Posts: 840
Default

You can post pictures as attachments to your comments if you are a $ supporting member. If you are not, you can still post pictures but you'll need to find your own place to host the files and then you'll link to those files.

Once you have uploaded your picture files to the internet somewhere, you can click the "Insert Image" button when you're making a post.

http://www.aquaticscape.com/articles/algae.htm
__________________
"Insanity: doing [or asking] the same thing over and over again and expecting different results."
random_alias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2006, 06:15 PM   #9
messy_da_legend
Planted Member
 
messy_da_legend's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Ipswich UK
Posts: 198
Default

it looks like "Blue-green, slime or smear algae" from that link
messy_da_legend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2006, 06:39 PM   #10
messy_da_legend
Planted Member
 
messy_da_legend's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Ipswich UK
Posts: 198
Default

ive got a pic of the algae now

http://photobucket.com/albums/e321/m...icciaalgae.jpg
messy_da_legend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2006, 06:47 PM   #11
random_alias
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
random_alias's Avatar
 
PTrader: (20/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: NC
Posts: 840
Default

Then you should search the forum for "BGA". I'm sure you will be able to find advice for yourself. It has been gone over a lot in various forums.

Here's a discussion I found quickly using the search:

http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/al...?highlight=BGA

There are others.

While I advise you to search, I'll also post some info here anyway since I know you want to start working on the problem immediately and may not be familiar with how to use the search yet.

Add KNO3, your nitrates are probably low.

If you choose to blackout, here's a rundown that I ripped from a post Tom made on another forum. I added the stuff in [] to clarify things since the post has been taken out of context.

Quote:
See Planted tank net, APC etc.

I've repeated it there a dozen or more times.
If you catch it [BGA] early, you never have to do it [blackout], simply suck it up and irritate it, water change, then add KNO3.

If you got it bad, then the blackout.

50% [water change] before and get all of it off you can, clean filters, vac up old substrates if gooey etc, then blackout(cover the tank!!!! so that no light gets in at all) for 3 days and add the KNO3(1/4 teaspoon per 20 gal).
Turn CO2 off, aerate or increase circulation.

Remove cover [after the full 3 days of blackout], add light back, do 50% water change, Add KNO3 back and then there after, keep filters clean regularly. Remove extra circulation, add CO2 back, if you have plants at or near the surface, trim them back prior to any of this.

That is pretty much it.
Most failures are from: not doing the full 3 day, not covering the tank so that no light at all gets in, not adding the KNO3, during or after.

Some use the Antibiotics in conjunction or with the KNO3 so that it does not come back.

Either method works but the KNO3 and dirt issues where never addressed with the pills, the blackout helped to find the long term cure, thus no need for drugs thereafter.

Some clients don't want to do the blackout, so I had no choice, but I prefer the blackout personally.

If there is BGA after you remove the cover, you did something wrong.


Regards,
Tom Barr
__________________
"Insanity: doing [or asking] the same thing over and over again and expecting different results."
random_alias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2006, 06:52 PM   #12
messy_da_legend
Planted Member
 
messy_da_legend's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Ipswich UK
Posts: 198
Default

thanks very much for your help ill do a search now and bear the "blackout" in mind
messy_da_legend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2006, 09:14 AM   #13
dudleystinks
Planted Member
 
dudleystinks's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK, Leicestershire
Posts: 171
Default

ahh yes how much of it do you have because i used to get a little that just pulled out once in a while
__________________


please comment on my 20 gallon photo album
dudleystinks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2006, 09:34 AM   #14
messy_da_legend
Planted Member
 
messy_da_legend's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Ipswich UK
Posts: 198
Default

its not like the tanks infested or anything it just covers me riccia (2"X4" carpet)
messy_da_legend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2006, 12:36 PM   #15
dudleystinks
Planted Member
 
dudleystinks's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK, Leicestershire
Posts: 171
Default

ahh right ok i used to get mine on my riccia easiest thing is to pull it off. I would say your lights are ok!
__________________


please comment on my 20 gallon photo album
dudleystinks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012