Eheim Liberty Questions
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment

Old 10-12-2003, 08:17 PM   #1
caught29
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)

I have an Eheim Liberty 200 filter on my 20-long tank, but since i've added plants recently it creates more water movement than necessary. It has a dial to turn the flow down for 'feeding'. Would there be any ill effects to leaving it on the low-flow feeding setting permanently? Could the impeller possibly overheat or something like that? Its a great filter and I'd rather not ruin it.

thanks
caught29 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-12-2003, 10:59 PM   #2
Guttboy
Planted Tank Enthusiast

Send a message via AIM to Guttboy

Caught,

Not that I am an Eheim expert but most filters (all that I know of) have a constant spinning impeller. The way to adjust the "flow" is just by restricting the ammt of water that actually reaches the constant spinning impeller. This is how I believe this works although I am not sure. With that being said and if the above is true It should not harm your impeller one bit.

Mike

10 Gallon...20 Endler's live bearers planted, peat/kitty litter/sand substrate

15 Gallon...Just Schultz Aquatic Plant soil
Guttboy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-12-2003, 11:18 PM   #3
DLeDeaux
Planted Tank Obsessed

Send a message via ICQ to DLeDeaux Send a message via AIM to DLeDeaux Send a message via MSN to DLeDeaux

Another way of "reducing flow" is by increasing the surface area of the output. Several people on the forum have made PVC attachments with holes drilled in them so that the water movement is spread more evenly throughout the whole tank.
Old 10-14-2003, 03:40 AM   #4
caught29
Algae Grower