Easy, cheap and effective DIY reflector
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > DIY

Old 10-11-2003, 12:02 AM   #1
Wasserpest
Are these real?

PTrader: (176/100%)

Easy, cheap and effective DIY reflector

I went through several iterations of selfmade reflectors, and finally I think I found a very good solution.

So I went to HD and bought a glass cutter ($3.75) and a sixpack of mirror tiles ($10). I already had some silicone glue and a steel square to help cutting the glass.

I have NEVER done that before, but once you figure out the right pressure scoring and breaking the glass is pretty easy.

I cut a few strips of 4x1.5 inches and glued them into the hood of my brand new 10 gal AGA. Did it on one side and took the picture.

I would say it easily doubles the light that goes into the tank. Actually I think it more than doubles it, but who cares. The two 10 Watt bulbs light up the tank sufficiently, definitely more than two 20 Watt bulbs with the original "reflector".

I will keep cutting and adding mirrors to all my fixtures, except the two from AH supply... hmmm, maybe those too.

The only disadvantage I could see is the added weight. For the little 10 gal hood it doesn't matter, larger ones with lots of fluorescents might be difficult.

Anybody tried that?
Wasserpest is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-11-2003, 12:22 AM   #2
Steve Hampton
Planted Member

PTrader: (0/0%)