Small Ammonia Spike
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Fertilizers and Water Parameters


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-10-2003, 06:09 AM   #1
mattrmiller
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 152
Default

In one of my tanks I added some fish to recently, I had a small ammonia spike. Adding the fish is the only thing I could think that would have done this. I have been using ammonia lock, and I added ammonia remover media to my filter, but my ammonia test still reads a little in the water after a week of treatment. I think I am going to take the ammonia remove products back, since they are not working.

What should I do?
mattrmiller is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-10-2003, 11:45 AM   #2
aquaverde
Wannabe Guru
 
aquaverde's Avatar
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Mid-Hudson Valley, New York
Posts: 1,410
Default

Water changes. Typically, if this is a new tank with no mulm starter, it will take about a month to cycle completely. There's a number of things that affect the cycle- number of fish, degree of planting, feeding levels. There are products available to seed the nitrifying bacteria in the tank. I tried one called Cycle, and it was worse than useless. There's another that I can't remember the name of (Spiro something-or-other) that some have reported success with. Other than that, I'd say you better be doing something like 1/3 or better water changes every 3-4 days until you are reading 0 ammonia and 0 nitrites, if you have overstocked a new tank. And stop adding fish until you get those numbers! My first tank I got a killer ammonia spike at about the third week. I was using Cycle, but thank God I was still testing the water and not trusting in the product. Since then, I start each new tank with mulm from an old one, and never see ammonia or nitrite in a tank.

James
__________________
James
aquaverde is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-10-2003, 01:35 PM   #3
Rex Grigg
Planted Tank Guru
 
Rex Grigg's Avatar
 
PTrader: (65/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Portland Orygun
Posts: 9,600
Send a message via ICQ to Rex Grigg Send a message via AIM to Rex Grigg
Default

Sounds more like a false positive ammonia test. I'll bet if you read the bottle of the ammonia lock it will tell you that it will not work with Nessler regent based test which are the most common type of ammonia test.
Rex Grigg is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-10-2003, 02:57 PM   #4
mattrmiller
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 152
Default

It's Not a new tank. It has been set up for more then 3 months, and has already completed it's cycle. I just do not know what caused it, and I can't seem to get it to go away. My Nitrites are at 0, and everything else is fine. My ammonia test is a liquid test, used with a test tube.
mattrmiller is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-11-2003, 03:34 AM   #5
Rex Grigg
Planted Tank Guru
 
Rex Grigg's Avatar
 
PTrader: (65/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Portland Orygun
Posts: 9,600
Send a message via ICQ to Rex Grigg Send a message via AIM to Rex Grigg
Default

What brand is the test kit?
Rex Grigg is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-11-2003, 02:59 PM   #6
mattrmiller
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 152
Default

The test kit is Aquarium Pharm, but I also had my LFS test it as well to ake sure. They read a small amount as well... like .25
mattrmiller is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-12-2003, 01:26 AM   #7
Rex Grigg
Planted Tank Guru
 
Rex Grigg's Avatar
 
PTrader: (65/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Portland Orygun
Posts: 9,600
Send a message via ICQ to Rex Grigg Send a message via AIM to Rex Grigg
Default

And what brand test kit did they use? To avoid false positive results when many water conditioners are used in water containing chloramines or when ammonia locking substances are used you MUST use a Salicylate based test kit. These types of test kits are few and far between and pretty expensive. Most LFS will use a Nessler based test kit because that's what they sell.
Rex Grigg is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ammonia & chloramine removers Tom713 Fertilizers and Water Parameters 10 10-12-2005 11:12 PM
any small fish that will eat hydra AW0L Fish 4 09-25-2004 12:38 AM
ammonia bottle?? tiny General Planted Tank Discussion 4 08-22-2004 03:26 PM
any small plant eating fish? AW0L Fish 0 05-24-2004 08:35 AM
Ammonia vs. Nitrate TheBohunk General Planted Tank Discussion 3 04-14-2004 10:47 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012