Fluval canisters - how is yours set up?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Shrimp & Other Invertebrates


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-02-2013, 11:39 PM   #1
azjenny
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
azjenny's Avatar
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Paradise Valley, AZ
Posts: 650
Default

Fluval canisters - how is yours set up?


I have a 206 that is cycling right now, and I am wondering if I've got it set up in an optimal way for shrimp.

How shrimpy people with Fluval canisters have their media set up?
azjenny is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-02-2013, 11:41 PM   #2
ravensgate
Planted Tank Guru
 
ravensgate's Avatar
 
PTrader: (65/100%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 3,130
Default

I asked this exact same question one time, I'll look for the thread in a second. But how I have my Eheim canister set up is (bottom to top, intake to outtake) is Seachemn Matrix, Coarse Sponge, more Seachem Matrix, Fine sponge, topped off with Purigen pouch.
ravensgate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 11:43 PM   #3
ravensgate
Planted Tank Guru
 
ravensgate's Avatar
 
PTrader: (65/100%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 3,130
Default

Here's the thread I had last year

http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...927&highlight=
ravensgate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 11:51 PM   #4
Kinection
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Kinection's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Anaheim, CA
Posts: 930
Default

For my Fluval 406, all I have is bio-balls and a sponge.
Since it's a shrimptank, and incase I needed to cycle a tank very quickly, I would have a TON of bioballs. I'm going to try setting up a new tank, adding bio-balls so the substrate is covered with it for a week and to see if my tank has been cycled.
I think the most important things for filters is carbon and bio-balls. The rest isn't necessary, imo.
__________________
- Brian
That one guy that is always online.
Kinection is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 01:20 AM   #5
sarahspins
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: TX
Posts: 445
Default

I have the original bio media the filter came with in the bottom tray of my 306's, then the top 2 trays are filled with biomax (the kind for the aquaclear filters that comes in mesh bags), with a purigen pouch in the top basket (I have DW in my tank that is still leeching tannins).

When I need to set up a temp tank I just yank out a bag of biomax or two and that tank/filter is good to go.. if I have some spare I toss new ones in the filter to seed those for the next time I need an instantly cycled tank
sarahspins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 05:50 AM   #6
Khooxo
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Omaha
Posts: 34
Default

All I have is biomax in my canister. No carbon as the tank is fully planted and the carbon draws away needed nutrients. Threw on a Filter-max III prefilter to the intake so the babies don't get sucked into my filter.
Khooxo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 06:42 AM   #7
MABJ
Invert Warrior
 
MABJ's Avatar
 
PTrader: (14/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: NY
Posts: 3,883
Default Fluval canisters - how is yours set up?

I never use carbon. I just don't like it. Couldn't place my finger on it, but it doesn't seem right in a fish tank.

I don't run a Fluval canister, but I run no carbon on any of my tanks. (And that's not to say I don't have it in case I need it for removing meds from the water)
__________________
|Mossy Bonsai|Almost ADA|DBP Loonnng|CRS Spec|
|My Tanks ʌ | Shrimp advice v|
|Essential tools|List of inverts|Sage advice|Truth About Snails|
Mark A Belcher Junior, founder -- DBP Club.
MABJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 06:57 AM   #8
mistahoo
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
mistahoo's Avatar
 
PTrader: (11/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Houston,Tx
Posts: 747
Default Re: Fluval canisters - how is yours set up?

I like loading canisters with bioballs, plastic pot scrubbers, or Seachem matrix. If I had money I'd do only Ehiem substratpro. IMO, cheapest and the biggest bang for its buck is plastic pot scrubbers. $1 for 6 is hard to beat.

Carbon is practically useless unless you're trying to take meds out of the water. If you're using it as a water polisher, do yourself a favor and pick up some purigen, you'll be amazed. Also, if carbon sits in the tank too long, it can start to leech out whatever it soaked in. And as someone mentioned already, it'll take in nutrients the plants can use. Purigen won't leech what it soaks up and you can recharge it instead of having to buy more. Purigen also polishes the water much better.

Sent from my spaceship using Tapatalk 2.
__________________
SunSun Pimp #82|RAOK Club Member #89|Eheim Pimp #543

210G|1.5G Iwagumi DSM|5G Fluval Chi
mistahoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012