OK, I'm hooked
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Planted Nano Tanks

Old 02-03-2006, 01:59 AM   #1
vandyll
Algae Grower

PTrader: (2/100%)
Send a message via AIM to vandyll Send a message via Yahoo to vandyll

OK, I'm hooked

I'm new here, so forgive my lack of technical knowledge. Here's a little background:

I've been keeping aquariums for around 25 years now, starting in my early teens with a 10G tank I received as a gift. Back then the big crazes were Ghost Catfish and Red-tailed Sharks, so I stocked up. Over the years, I have set up many tanks, from 5G freshwater and 10G micro-reefs, to 120G reef tanks. But I've always avoided plants for some reason.

As I got back into the hobby recently, I was again at a loss for plants as I was doing an African Cichlid tank, so I got my fix with placing a couple of plants in my sons 5G Eclipse tank with his goldfish (2 java ferns and a water wisp), and they are doing surprisingly well. Then it dawned on me that I have a 20G long with some supplies sitting in storage.... now, I must do a planted tank.

I'll be doing quite a bit of research and probably asking questions, so get ready for it. My wife and I agree that we want the tank to basically look like a field, with the substrate covered with plush greenery. Just have to figure out what that is.

Anyways, sorry to be long winded, I guess this was just my way of saying hello. I'll be tracking the setup and progress with pictures, and I'll be doing this in conjunction with setting up my 46G cichlid tank. I'll be a busy little bee for a while.

Off to read more, and thanks for all the info I have already extracted from these forums!
vandyll is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-03-2006, 02:22 AM   #2
guaiac_boy
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (0/0%)