NYC Tap Water Question/CRS
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Shrimp & Other Invertebrates

Old 02-28-2013, 04:49 AM   #1
gnauhandy
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)

NYC Tap Water Question/CRS

Newbie here, I wanted to ask, if it's ok just to prepare tap water with dechlorinators for CRS - tank WC's. I don't have access to RO water nor the budget and am trying to see if I can start a CRS tank. I've read from several articles that said tap water just needed dechlorinators. I'm not sure but NYC tap water shows about 1.3 mg/L and on another site they it's explained that an experiment showed anything more than 100 ug/L is lethal to shrimp. Anyone with experience can give insight? I don't want to start something that I can't afford/handle. Also is there a better alternative to the low budget API tests for pH, N-cycle, GH, KH? Thanks'
gnauhandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-28-2013, 06:13 AM   #2
Monster Fish
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (32/100%)

Invest in a TDS meter, the API Master Test Kit, and a GH/KH test kit. NYC tap also uses chlorine so use an appropriate dechlorinator. You can read the NYC water report for more info. Anyways, straight out of the tap, I get pH -7.2, dGH - 2, dKH - 2, TDS - 50-60ppm. It varies in the 5 boroughs though, depending on your location but the water is usually soft in most places.
RAOK Club #77|The Fraternity of Dirt #112
Monster Fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 09:26 AM   #3
Zenzu
Planted Member

PTrader: (8/100%)

My advice is if you can't afford to do it correctly and invest some cash into the project then don't waste your time and money. Get cheaper easy to care for shrimp like rcs save some cash and in the future set up an appropriate tank after you have all the necessary supplies and resources to do so.