Led actual watt/power
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Lighting

Old 02-24-2013, 06:50 PM   #1
Jnad
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (0/0%)

Led actual watt/power

Hello!

Different led light is flooding our hobby, many are good products and some not so good. Often i see led products labeled 10, 20, 30, 50W of power and so on.

I am an electrician ingeneer and i have done some mearsuring of some led products when i was in to saltwater tanks. Actually i have tested three led fixtures/bulbs for the actually power, and i have been diseapointed.

I would encourage those of you that can to do som tests for the actual power, I am especially suspicious of those chinese led flood lights that claims 20W and above.

If someone do some tests i hope you will post it here.

Jnad
Jnad is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-24-2013, 10:37 PM   #2
Hoppy
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (74/100%)

Much more important than the power consumption is the PAR they produce at the appropriate distance for your tank. LEDs seem to be described as X watts based on simply multiplying their maximum forward voltage drop times their maximum current. But, the LED bulbs that contain a LED driver as well as the LED junctions, may not run the LEDs at their maximum power consumption.
Old 02-25-2013, 05:37 PM   #3
All your base
Planted Member

PTrader: (1/100%)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hoppy View Post
But, the LED bulbs that contain a LED driver as well as the LED junctions, may not run the LEDs at their maximum power consumption.