Fluval FX5 Canister Filter? - Page 2
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-22-2013, 02:04 PM   #16
marcnc
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 225
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amberoze View Post
I use a hydor inline heater (the only brand that in aware of) with one of my fluvals. Works great, the only problem is that the hydor is 5/8" I.D. while the fluval house is 1" I.D. You'll need to custom plumb and reduce the hose size. I actually split my output and did a diy spray bar. I'll post a pic later if you'd like.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
Yes that would be great if you can post picture. I was thinking I would need to split the heater and reactor. I assume you split it with a WYE?
marcnc is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-22-2013, 02:04 PM   #17
marcnc
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 225
Default

My budget is about 260 for the filter. I guess with that budget is the FX5 the best option for me?
marcnc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 02:39 PM   #18
marcnc
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 225
Default

Anyone that has this filter think it will be OK with tank that has Sand?
marcnc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 03:39 PM   #19
ETK
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Southern California
Posts: 167
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mistahoo View Post
Plastic pot scrubbers. You can find them at any dollar store. 6 for $1. Now compare that to Fluval media. Last I remember, buying a box of Fluval media cost me about $15 for a large media bag full. $15 will get me 90 plastic pot scrubbers. Both hold beneficial bacteria. Now compare the two.


Here's a pic from Google if you don't know what I'm talking about.

Pretty snarky, considering nobody was questioning which was cheaper. I appreciate the picture, though. Want to make sure I know what we are talking about before putting it in a my filter, and there are lots of kinds of plastic pot scrubbers.
__________________
ETK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 03:51 PM   #20
VAtanks
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: VA BCH
Posts: 235
Default

....I use Biomax. Petco had like 10 boxes on sale for 2 bucks a piece...filled the middle tray to the max with it.
__________________
29g Tetra Tank
100g Planted Angel/Clown Loach
I can't spell...Im an engineer, I do math
VAtanks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 04:23 PM   #21
amberoze
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
amberoze's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: lexington, sc
Posts: 432
Default Re: Fluval FX5 Canister Filter?

Quote:
Originally Posted by marcnc View Post
Yes that would be great if you can post picture. I was thinking I would need to split the heater and reactor. I assume you split it with a WYE?
Split with a TEE actually. Pics below.

Quote:
Originally Posted by marcnc View Post
My budget is about 260 for the filter. I guess with that budget is the FX5 the best option for me?
Both of my fx5s cost about 250 each.


Quote:
Originally Posted by marcnc View Post
Anyone that has this filter think it will be OK with tank that has Sand?
Sand should be fine. Just lift your intake about 4-6 inches of the substrate.

Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1361553178964.jpg
Views:	94
Size:	48.4 KB
ID:	92002
Reducer bushing from 1" down to 5/8" for the TEE. I wish I had used a 1" TEE, and reduced after the split. Also, notice that the TEE is on it's side, kind of like a lower case "y".

Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1361553776185.jpg
Views:	113
Size:	54.1 KB
ID:	92018
The heater is on the open output. The other side of the split goes to a diy spray bar.

I estimate about 400gph flow through my tank with this setup. The fx5 is rated for 600+gph, but that's with no media and all stock parts. I read where someone experimented with smooth hoses and got over 700+gph. Just food for thought.lol

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
amberoze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 04:32 PM   #22
ETK
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Southern California
Posts: 167
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amberoze View Post
I use a hydor inline heater (the only brand that in aware of) with one of my fluvals. Works great, the only problem is that the hydor is 5/8" I.D. while the fluval house is 1" I.D. You'll need to custom plumb and reduce the hose size. I actually split my output and did a diy spray bar. I'll post a pic later if you'd like.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
I took a similar approach, but I wanted to end up with a single outflow. I built a PVC manifold that runs a CO2 reactor and an inline heater in parallel and then recombines them. Using ball valves i can adjust the flow to each, or bypass them completely. This way I should have less total resistance than if the reduced diameter sections were in series.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Underneath 1.jpg
Views:	109
Size:	84.5 KB
ID:	92034  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Manifold.jpg
Views:	123
Size:	44.0 KB
ID:	92042  

__________________

Last edited by ETK; 02-22-2013 at 04:36 PM.. Reason: typo
ETK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 04:48 PM   #23
amberoze
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
amberoze's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: lexington, sc
Posts: 432
Default Re: Fluval FX5 Canister Filter?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ETK View Post
I took a similar approach, but I wanted to end up with a single outflow. I built a PVC manifold that runs a CO2 reactor and an inline heater in parallel and then recombines them. Using ball valves i can adjust the flow to each, or bypass them completely. This way I should have less total resistance than if the reduced diameter sections were in series.
I'm saving these pictures if you don't mind. I'd like to have them when I upgrade my tank to hi tech. This is an awesome setup you've got here. One question though, why are you using brass barbs for the hydor, but plastic barbs on the other two?

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
amberoze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 04:50 PM   #24
amberoze
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
amberoze's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: lexington, sc
Posts: 432
Default Re: Fluval FX5 Canister Filter?

Double post
amberoze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 04:53 PM   #25
marcnc
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 225
Default

Thank you for the pictures, that should help me when I get the filter next week. I ordered it today. $247 and 2 day free shipping.

So from the output of the canister you split into that T? One then goes direct back into the tank? Assume with the spray bar or whatever comes with it? The other goes to the heater to the return you made?

Do you have anything before or after the T to limit the flow? Assume I could also add my CO2 reactor and UV on this side as well long as I limit the flow?

Thanks again.
marcnc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 04:54 PM   #26
CrypticLifeStyle
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Boston
Posts: 1,211
Default

Fx6 is already out in Europe :/
__________________
I'm not into the image, but into the hobby...
CrypticLifeStyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 04:54 PM   #27
ETK
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Southern California
Posts: 167
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amberoze View Post
I'm saving these pictures if you don't mind. I'd like to have them when I upgrade my tank to hi tech. This is an awesome setup you've got here.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
No problem of course. Building that thing was fun -- let me know if you have any questions. There is more info in my tank journal too.
__________________
ETK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 04:57 PM   #28
marcnc
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 225
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ETK View Post
No problem of course. Building that thing was fun -- let me know if you have any questions. There is more info in my tank journal too.

WOW that really cool, thanks for sharing, I am going to do the same I think.
marcnc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 04:59 PM   #29
amberoze
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
amberoze's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: lexington, sc
Posts: 432
Default Re: Fluval FX5 Canister Filter?

Quote:
Originally Posted by marcnc View Post
Thank you for the pictures, that should help me when I get the filter next week. I ordered it today. $247 and 2 day free shipping.

So from the output of the canister you split into that T? One then goes direct back into the tank? Assume with the spray bar or whatever comes with it? The other goes to the heater to the return you made?

Do you have anything before or after the T to limit the flow? Assume I could also add my CO2 reactor and UV on this side as well long as I limit the flow?

Thanks again.
If you are using co2 as well, I would build the manifold that ETK posted.

To answer your question, one output from the TEE goes to the spray bar I made, the other output goes through the heater then directly into the tank.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
amberoze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 05:13 PM   #30
marcnc
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 225
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ETK View Post
No problem of course. Building that thing was fun -- let me know if you have any questions. There is more info in my tank journal too.

Your tank looks great. All your plumbing is great.

Few questions.

What size PVC is that 1/2, 3/4? unable to tell from picture. - Answered my own question on this one, helps to read your journal :-)
The output from your canister is that split line going to the manifold and one direct to the tank or do you have everything into the manifold? If that case does it not cause flow to be really low?

What type of CO2 reactor are you using?

Thanks again.
marcnc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012