help with balanese crypt - Page 2
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Plants


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-11-2006, 02:49 AM   #16
marchsunrise371
Algae Grower
 
marchsunrise371's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 81
Default

help with balanese crypt


Ok here are two pictures of the plant root and the size of a leaf relative to the size of a pencil.
I'm thinking if I can identify this plant I may be able to get it do SOMETHING,
ANYTHING... lol
I have searched many a site to figure out what this thing is.... just can't seem to find it.
Thanks in advance for the help.
~~~Dawn
http://hometown.aol.com/flowergirl371/index.html
__________________
The only thing I know for sure, is that I do not know everything. -Plato
marchsunrise371 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-11-2006, 12:54 PM   #17
Bert H
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (26/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Alachua, Fl
Posts: 678
Default

Don't know what it is, but definitely does not look like a Crypt.
__________________
Bert
Filstar pimp #19
Bert H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2006, 05:05 PM   #18
marchsunrise371
Algae Grower
 
marchsunrise371's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 81
Default

Well I figured if I could identify it then maybe I could figure out where in the world it comes from and then get it to do something by getting conditions close to what its natural origin would be like. It was labled a Balanese crypt when I bought it. But I don't really go strictly by what aquatic plants are labled in the stores. Alot of times they are labled incorrectly.
I think i might try to put it in a pot and put a jobes stick under it in some kitty litter and peat. Just to see if it will do something. (Nothing else has worked) Maybe move it to my tank that I have a peat filter on. That tank has 4wpg. no c02.
~~~Dawn
__________________
The only thing I know for sure, is that I do not know everything. -Plato
marchsunrise371 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2006, 07:03 PM   #19
esarkipato
Wannabe Guru
 
esarkipato's Avatar
 
PTrader: (28/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: W. Michigan
Posts: 1,984
Send a message via MSN to esarkipato
Default

wow, thanks for this thread, all! My hand-me-down vallis isn't a vallis at all! It's a Crypt! Crypt spiralis! Hooooorayyyyy.
__________________
-Ernie

29 Gallon Tank: 110W PC Lights, Milwaukee MA957 CO2, Fluorite/Sand Substrate, Checked into E.I. Rehab


MY RENA FILSTAR XP3 PIMPS ME! (#67)
esarkipato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2006, 06:12 PM   #20
triple red
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
triple red's Avatar
 
PTrader: (14/100%)
Join Date: May 2005
Location: connecticut
Posts: 722
Default

there is no way that its a balanese......
triple red is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012