New planted setup, would appreciate any advice [video]
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > General Planted Tank Discussion

Old 02-17-2013, 12:33 AM   #1
MrSlumpy
Planted Member

PTrader: (2/100%)

New planted setup, would appreciate any advice [video]

I've had my 36 gallon bowfront for about a year and a half, but I just recently replaced all my fake plastic plants with live ones. (I've never done this planted tank thing before.) I'm running a paintball CO2 system and a finnex Ray 2 for lighting. I am having some algae issues and I have no idea what ferts I should be using. I'm currently dosing it with Seachem Flourish 2x a week but I'm sure I need something else.

I made a video showing a few areas I'm concerned and unsure about, please check it out and let me know what you think. Any and all advice would be appreciated!

Oh, also a specific question: Regarding the "soda water" effect I'm getting from my diffuser, would an inline diffuser get rid of that or at least minimize it? I also read a comment suggesting putting the diffuser right near my filter intake? Is that a good idea to get rid of some / most of the bubbles? Would the CO2 level improve / worsen?

Thank you in advance!
MrSlumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-17-2013, 12:53 AM   #2
kevmo911
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (32/100%)

Firstly, congratulations on the first embedded video I've ever seen on TPT.

Secondly, I like the simple aquascape.

As for the rest, yes, you're going to need more fertilization. Look into EI dosing. Less than $30 shipped should get you enough dry ferts for a year on that tank.