How long before adding fish
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Fish


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-16-2013, 08:33 PM   #1
Blackheart
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Blackheart's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Royal Oak, Michigan
Posts: 877
Default

How long before adding fish


So I added the 8 head and tail light tetras to my tank exactly a week ago, they all seem to be doing just fine.

well, I was wondering, how long should I wait before adding additional fish? I know I've heard that you have to slowly add them.
Blackheart is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-16-2013, 09:07 PM   #2
plantedtankfan
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: US
Posts: 92
Default

Test your water, if the water parameters are fine then more fish. How big is your tank?
plantedtankfan is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-16-2013, 09:15 PM   #3
rileynapalm
Algae Grower
 
rileynapalm's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Ohio
Posts: 103
Default

yeah, if you're still close to zero with your ammonia and nitrite, i'd say go for it. and as long as you have enough plants to handle a tad bit higher nitrate, i think you're good to go.
__________________
-29 gallon South American
--15 gallon black neon habitat
---I like fish. They don't talk back, bark or pee on the floor.
rileynapalm is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-17-2013, 02:17 PM   #4
chibikaie
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 554
Default

Don't forget to quarantine each group of new fish.
chibikaie is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-17-2013, 02:56 PM   #5
wicca27
Planted Tank Guru
 
wicca27's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Dewey
Posts: 4,667
Send a message via Yahoo to wicca27
Default

test your paramaters if nitrites and ammonia are 0 your good to go but due qt your new fish cause it would blow to have them all get sick cause of one new fish
wicca27 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012