The Shire (Lord of the Rings) nano tank
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Planted Nano Tanks

Old 12-31-2005, 08:37 AM   #1
GreenerSideofLIfe
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (1/100%)

The Shire (Lord of the Rings) nano tank

As a serious fan of LOTRs I have always been facinated with things like... The Shire. Heck, there was a 'hobbit' style home where I used to live and I applied for a loan to buy it when it went up for sale. Yep. Im a fan...

Anyway! I've been considering for a while now another reincarnation for my 5 gal mini bowl. This tank has had more lives than a cat.

My next goal: The shire.

My insperation:

My sketch (sorry for the 5 min not terribly note worthy sketch. Its just a rough idea inspired by insomnia and a tad too much cold medicine I think.. I'm an artist. I can do WAY better sketches than this... its almost embarsing

My sketch:

The process: I would like to come up with a way to build that bookend into a hill to make it look like a doorway into the mound. I would then like to have plants which stay SMALL, and can most blend into the scene. I was thinking Glosso and Riccia. I want to keep everything to scale. As far as fish...not sure about that. LOL It would probibly look alittle...odd.

I would also like to plant a few small accent plants on the hill that would look like trees and bushes (obviously things that stay really small). Ideas?

Problems I've already thought of:

#1. How do I form the mound?

#2. How do I keep the Riccia down untill it sets up?

#3. How do I hide things like the CO2?

ideas??
GreenerSideofLIfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-31-2005, 02:01 PM   #2
cxz
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)

you stole my idea! I haven't gotten around to it..

but we have a different approach I think..