Mats under rimless tanks
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


View Poll Results: Should I stick a mat under my tank?
Yes 32 88.89%
No 4 11.11%
Voters: 36. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-08-2012, 04:20 PM   #1
shrimpnmoss
Shrimpsanity
 
shrimpnmoss's Avatar
 
PTrader: (62/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: 47 31' 49" N / 122 1' 53" W
Posts: 3,048
Send a message via Yahoo to shrimpnmoss
Default

Mats under rimless tanks


I recently set up a RIMLESS 20 gallon long. Unfortunately, I did not put a yoga mat under this tank. There is water and a colony of shrimps in there right now. After reading some horror stories online about rimless tanks busting at the seams, I'm considering draining most of the water and putting a mat under the tank. HOWEVER, speaking to to other hobbyist some say its really not needed for smaller tanks. The tank is on a stand that is pretty level. Not perfect but only about 1/2 cm off. I have mats under all my other rimless tanks, I just skipped a step this time and I am kind of regretting it.

Should I stick a mat under anyways?
__________________
|ShrimpTech|v1|v2|v3|v4|
shrimpnmoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-08-2012, 04:25 PM   #2
duff
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
duff's Avatar
 
PTrader: (29/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Dallas
Posts: 594
Default

Just my opinion, but an ounce of prevention.... PITA to now but I would feel a bit more at ease if it were me :0)
__________________
duff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 04:51 PM   #3
prototyp3
Wannabe Guru
 
prototyp3's Avatar
 
PTrader: (86/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,221
Default

Not sure I'd consider a 20 gallon rimless tank small.. 2 gallons maybe, but not 20. Get some foam under there.
__________________
prototyp3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 05:01 PM   #4
vincent201089
Planted Member
 
vincent201089's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Garden Grove, CA
Posts: 188
Default

In my country, we used to put nothing under rimless tanks. I'm not sure if this will work for earthquake-socal-area.
However, I think you should do it, especially for rimless tank. We are in socal too.
Call few more friends, 20g is not a big deal. Cut it first, drain more than half water in it (a 20g with substrate and 5-7g of water is easy for 2 and a third person for putting the mat in), lift the tank up and put the mat or HD foam under it. So you don't stress out your shrimp.
Good look with your setup, I really like it. Learned many things from you.
vincent201089 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 05:18 PM   #5
speedie408
ShrimpKeeprExtraordinaire
 
speedie408's Avatar
 
PTrader: (391/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Central Cali
Posts: 8,302
Default

Do what I did, use those cabinet liners you see at Wallyworld. Stack them like 5 layers thick and viola. Instant foam cushion brotha! lol Works for my 120-P.

Actually here's how it looks when I first installed it:




Mighty spiffy if you ask me!
speedie408 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 06:57 PM   #6
zergling
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
zergling's Avatar
 
PTrader: (22/100%)
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 993
Default

On my 120-P, I used 2 layers of foam board(?) at Office Depot. I think that product is supposed to be for sales presentations or something LOL!
__________________
__________________________________
zergling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 06:57 PM   #7
Scyry
Planted Member
 
Scyry's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wheat Ridge, CO
Posts: 152
Default

Has anyone used cork? I was looking at some cork pads for house plants pots the other day thinking they would work good for my 12" cube.
__________________
Tanks:
26 Gallon Aqueon Bowfront

Mr.Aqua 7.5 Gallon Cube
2.5 Gallon Aqueon Bowfront
Scyry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 07:37 PM   #8
HD Blazingwolf
Planted Tank Guru
 
HD Blazingwolf's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,907
Default

my question is.. why do you do this in the first place?
__________________
HD Blazingwolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 07:58 PM   #9
samamorgan
Wannabe Guru
 
samamorgan's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via MSN to samamorgan Send a message via Skype™ to samamorgan
Default

Took me 5 minutes to move my 20 long from my bedroom to my living room. Drain, lift, move. Filling took the longest. It only weighs about 50 pounds with most of the water drained.

Get the AquaPro 20 long? Exact tank I have. Great quality for $110
__________________
LED Lighting Compendium
20 Long Rimess w/LEDs
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ludwig van Beethoven
Don't only practice your art, but force your way into it's secrets, for it and knowledge can raise men to the divine.
samamorgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 08:02 PM   #10
shrimpnmoss
Shrimpsanity
 
shrimpnmoss's Avatar
 
PTrader: (62/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: 47 31' 49" N / 122 1' 53" W
Posts: 3,048
Send a message via Yahoo to shrimpnmoss
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HD Blazingwolf View Post
my question is.. why do you do this in the first place?
Concept is to evenly distribute the weight across the entire bottom of the tank due to the floor or stand not being perfectly level and stand sagging over time. Like a mini shock absorber/cushion under the tank. The reported failures on rimless tanks are usually the seams when one side or corner is stress over time compared to the other side.
__________________
|ShrimpTech|v1|v2|v3|v4|
shrimpnmoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 08:04 PM   #11
shrimpnmoss
Shrimpsanity
 
shrimpnmoss's Avatar
 
PTrader: (62/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: 47 31' 49" N / 122 1' 53" W
Posts: 3,048
Send a message via Yahoo to shrimpnmoss
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by samamorgan View Post
Took me 5 minutes to move my 20 long from my bedroom to my living room. Drain, lift, move. Filling took the longest. It only weighs about 50 pounds with most of the water drained.

Get the AquaPro 20 long? Exact tank I have. Great quality for $110
We probably got it from the same spot or person.
__________________
|ShrimpTech|v1|v2|v3|v4|
shrimpnmoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 09:52 PM   #12
HD Blazingwolf
Planted Tank Guru
 
HD Blazingwolf's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,907
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shrimpnmoss View Post
Concept is to evenly distribute the weight across the entire bottom of the tank due to the floor or stand not being perfectly level and stand sagging over time. Like a mini shock absorber/cushion under the tank. The reported failures on rimless tanks are usually the seams when one side or corner is stress over time compared to the other side.

good to know
thanks!
__________________
HD Blazingwolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 10:44 PM   #13
antbug
Wannabe Guru
 
antbug's Avatar
 
PTrader: (37/100%)
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Sacramento, Ca
Posts: 1,961
Default

I was watching some Amano scaping videos and even under his big 180p's, I didn't see any mats? I'm I missing something or does he not use them?
__________________
ADA mini L - ADA 120p
___________________

antbug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 10:59 PM   #14
ZID ZULANDER
Shrimp Crazy
 
ZID ZULANDER's Avatar
 
PTrader: (125/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Temecula, CA
Posts: 1,890
Default

I have a 20 gallon tank without a mat. Seems fine. I did find out that Mr. Aqua tanks will have mats in a few months for their size tanks.
__________________
Canon Pimp Club #005
ZID ZULANDER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 11:56 PM   #15
prototyp3
Wannabe Guru
 
prototyp3's Avatar
 
PTrader: (86/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,221
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antbug View Post
I was watching some Amano scaping videos and even under his big 180p's, I didn't see any mats? I'm I missing something or does he not use them?
He has an army of boys to hand him plants and rocks, surely he has them hand sand his stands to perfect levelness as well.
__________________
prototyp3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012