large project discussion
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > General Planted Tank Discussion > Riparium/Terrarium/Vivarium

Old 12-22-2005, 01:00 AM   #1
eusair
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)

large project discussion

a little introduction: i have a tank and a goal which includes fish, lizard(s), waterfall(s), stream, water and land plants, etc. getting to this goal is going to take a great deal of time because i've never done this before. what i have is desire, creativity, ingenuity, and a propensity toward the extreme. what i intend to do here is spill it all out and see what kind of responses i receive.

i acquired the tank a while ago. dimensions 48"L x 13"W x 18"H with 1/4" thick glass. currently, it is in pieces because the bottom glass was broken and the silicone job was terrible. i am picking up the bottom piece of glass tomorrow.

reconstruction should be pretty easy for me, since i still have the cheap plastic aquarium base (nothing on the top, although i did buy a screen that fits). will be tracking down GE window & door silicone. but before i do, i am seriously considering putting bulkheads in the bottom. if i do, i'll have to build a stand, which is fine. it would be purely functional and not aestetically pleasing. but this tank doesn't deserve anything great. it is mostly just for learning purposes.

the other day, i purchased this RO filter system. a very good deal, imo. a must considering i have very hard water. in fact, if i boil a pot of water long enough, i will end up with a film on the edges of the pot that i can peal off. i can't wait to cook with the RO water instead.