(Barely) Dirted Tank
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-10-2013, 02:30 AM   #1
Tank Man
Algae Grower
 
Tank Man's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Philadelphia suburbs
Posts: 71
Default

(Barely) Dirted Tank


I started up a new 55 and I have had dirt tanks in the past. my last set up was just flourite and it all grew fine for me. in this new set up though I put about 1/2 inch of organic soil capped by about 3 inches of flourite.

Anyone know how big of a difference it will make? My thinking was that the dirt would leak nutrients and that my plants roots would eventually reach the dirt as well.

Opinions? Advice?
__________________
Young Aquarists UNITE!

55 Tank Journal
Tank Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-10-2013, 04:16 AM   #2
Gtdad2
Planted Member
 
Gtdad2's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Lady Lake,FL
Posts: 293
Default

Should work out just fine.
Gtdad2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 04:21 AM   #3
Dx3Bash
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Dx3Bash's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 457
Default

Shouldnt need root tabs for a year or more.
__________________
Dx3Bash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 01:22 AM   #4
Yankee
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Yankee's Avatar
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Oregon
Posts: 324
Default

You should be fine but expect some of your heavy root feeders to have an extended break in period until the root into the soil (that's my experience with crypts, sword, and some Val strands). Also I've had some problems with carpeting plants in substrates that have large caps (I.e. DHG will grow all the way down to the soil and THEN start growing upwards, resulting in a longer period to carpet).
Yankee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 05:16 AM   #5
talontsiawd
Planted Tank Guru
 
talontsiawd's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Concord, CA
Posts: 4,298
Send a message via AIM to talontsiawd
Default

I have found that I only like soil in small doses. The last tank I did soil in was a 5.5 gallon. It was no CO2, probably medium light. I put around 1/4 in of soil. It worked very well for me and I didn't have any of the negatives you get with a larger amount of soil. My heavy root feeders had incredibly large roots, even my various Rotala species had pretty crazy roots going.

I did notice after about 6 months, I had to supplement with a small amount of ferts and after about a year, probably more like a year and a 1/3rd, I was dosing the tank as if it didn't have soil, still getting better results than my non soil tanks.

I really think a small amount is the way to go. I have had success with an inch to two inches but I have had failures as well.

You also don't get crazy tannins which I personally enjoy not having.
talontsiawd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012