what temp is best (kelvin)
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Lighting

Old 11-12-2002, 04:26 PM   #1
PLANTOID
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)

Hi, im a newbie and i just set up my first planted tank. I have a 15g reg. tank (12dx24lx12h) with 2x20w 5200k marineland bulb. I think i need to upgrade my bulbs to a higher spectum? What do you recomend? Can i use these or one of these in conjunction with another bulb?

1 amizon sword "compacta"
bunch of java ferns (1 pot which i spread out)
3 anubias nana (from 1 pot)
1 polysperma heteromorpha
1 mini chain sowrd
and one i can not identfy(looks like a tiny sword with purple color under the leavs and the leaves are all curly and stuff i will uplad a picture tonight.
PLANTOID is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-12-2002, 04:37 PM   #2
KyleT
Planted Tank VIP

PTrader: (5/100%)

Hi there Plantoid and welcome to the Board!

Kelvin is a very debatable topic and is really up to your personal experimentation and preference. I personally prefer bulbs in the range of about 5500 - 7500 K range as I have found that my plants benefit the most from this range rather than the higher range of Kelvin. However many people have had success with bulbs in the 9000K range.

You can most definately mix two different bulbs. For example on my 55 gallon tank I have 2 5000K bulbs and 2 65000 K bulbs.

Basically I would recommend finding an bulb that has stats close to these:
Kelvin: 5000 - 10000 K
CRI: 85 or higher
Lumens: around 2000

Kyle
Old 11-12-2002, 06:59 PM   #3
GulfCoastAquarian
Planted Tank VIP

PTrader: (6/100%)
Send a message via ICQ to GulfCoastAquarian Send a message via Yahoo to GulfCoastAquarian

Rather than spend another $20 on bulbs, why not look into overdriving the bulbs you have?