OKnights112's 1st Aquarium - Day 66 Update - Page 2
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Tank Journals


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-11-2013, 05:23 AM   #16
OKnights112
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Pearland, TX USA
Posts: 67
Default

Day 5:
I did a 50% water change today. Here are the parameters.
Ammonia – 0.5ppm
Nitrates –20ppm
Nitrites – 0.5ppm
PH – 7.4
I will do another 50% water change tomorrow to get the ammonia down to .25ppm since it appears to be holding after each water change. It seems like my tank is starting to cycle since I am getting some Nitrates. I added some Ammo Lock from API so at least I will hold the ammonia level where it is.
__________________
OKnights112 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-12-2013, 02:29 PM   #17
OKnights112
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Pearland, TX USA
Posts: 67
Default

Day 6:
Not much to report but my water parameters:
Ammonia – 0.5ppm
Nitrates –20ppm
Nitrites – 1.0ppm
PH – 7.4
Temp - 77 degrees
I am really excited, I am going to meet a guy that was selling a Do Aqua Outflow Lily. I can't wait to pick it up today.
__________________

Last edited by OKnights112; 02-12-2013 at 02:31 PM.. Reason: Temp added.
OKnights112 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-12-2013, 05:40 PM   #18
Hobbes1911
Wannabe Guru
 
Hobbes1911's Avatar
 
PTrader: (19/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,515
Default

Looks like it'll be a great tank. Good luck with the fish. Ph above 7 and ammonia will be toxic. Also, I'm not sure, but it looks like you planted the anubias. Make sure the rhizome is above the substrate, otherwise they will rot. I'd heed the advice from the members here and remove the fish. But obviously it's your call.
Hobbes1911 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-12-2013, 06:22 PM   #19
moorin
Algae Grower
 
moorin's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: u.k
Posts: 94
Default OKnights112 - 1st Tank – 36 Gallon

Poor fish unless you have another tank to house them in then I suppose there is nothing you can do but don't expect them to be long lived once the tank is cycled the damage will already be done.

Great looking scape though, just have a bit of patience it works wonders
moorin is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-13-2013, 06:32 AM   #20
OKnights112
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Pearland, TX USA
Posts: 67
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hobbes1911 View Post
Looks like it'll be a great tank. Good luck with the fish. Ph above 7 and ammonia will be toxic. Also, I'm not sure, but it looks like you planted the anubias. Make sure the rhizome is above the substrate, otherwise they will rot. I'd heed the advice from the members here and remove the fish. But obviously it's your call.
I did plant them and the rhizome is above the substrate. Thanks.
__________________
OKnights112 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-13-2013, 04:43 PM   #21
OKnights112
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Pearland, TX USA
Posts: 67
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by moorin View Post
Poor fish unless you have another tank to house them in then I suppose there is nothing you can do but don't expect them to be long lived once the tank is cycled the damage will already be done.

Great looking scape though, just have a bit of patience it works wonders
I know about the fish and I made a mistake. I have been running Ammo-Lock and using Seachem's Stability since Saturday morning to help speed up the cycling process. I got the ammonia back to .25 last night with a water change.

I yalls opnion what is a better Seachem Prime or API Stress Coat?

I have been using API Stress Coat.
__________________
OKnights112 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-13-2013, 04:45 PM   #22
moorin
Algae Grower
 
moorin's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: u.k
Posts: 94
Default OKnights112 - 1st Tank – 36 Gallon

I like the api products but that is only because I can buy them quickly over the counter if I need them otherwise I would go seachem but again just personal preference.
moorin is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-13-2013, 09:02 PM   #23
Wolf19
Planted Member
 
Wolf19's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Calgary
Posts: 221
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by moorin View Post
Poor fish unless you have another tank to house them in then I suppose there is nothing you can do but don't expect them to be long lived once the tank is cycled the damage will already be done.

Great looking scape though, just have a bit of patience it works wonders
I would go grab a plastic 5 gallon pail, fill it with water, maybe put some regular gravel in there and do manual water changes until that tank cycles? Might be a lot of work tho

Last edited by Wolf19; 02-13-2013 at 09:02 PM.. Reason: sp error
Wolf19 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-17-2013, 04:46 AM   #24
OKnights112
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Pearland, TX USA
Posts: 67
Default

Got my AquaTek CO2 Mini Regulator for my paintball tank and got it all hooked up and working. I am going to start out with one bubble a second and see if that will help my PH. I also got a DoAqua Lily Pipe and got that all installed in my tank as well. My ammonia has been at .25 since my last update, it looks like my tank is cycling. Here are some pics of my CO2 setup and my new lily pipe.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Day11 CO2-1 web.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	198.8 KB
ID:	88890  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Day11 DoAqua web.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	199.0 KB
ID:	88898  

__________________
OKnights112 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-21-2013, 05:06 AM   #25
OKnights112
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Pearland, TX USA
Posts: 67
Default

Day 12 – 2/17/13
Put in API’s Quick Start to help cycle the tank. I was getting to worried about the ammonia levels and nitrite levers. Seachem’s Stability did not seem like it was the right thing to do. Lesson learned.
Ammonia – 0.5ppm
Nitrates – 0ppm
Nitrites – .25ppm
PH – 7.4

Day 13 – 2/18/13
Ammonia – 0.5ppm
Nitrates – 5ppm
Nitrites – 0ppm
PH – 7.4

Day 15 – 2/20/13
I stopped by and picked up a new plant today, Echinodorus - ‘Red Flame’. When I got home it found its new home. I rearranged some of the rocks. I took two out and placed moved one. I really like how it is coming along. Hopefully in two weeks my Dwarf Hairgrass will be in and so I can plant it too. Here are my water parameters for today.
Ammonia – 0.5ppm
Nitrates – 0ppm
Nitrites – 0ppm
PH – 7.4
Probably need to do a water change tomorrow.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Day15 web.jpg
Views:	28
Size:	170.5 KB
ID:	91066  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Day15 Red Flame web.jpg
Views:	31
Size:	216.2 KB
ID:	91074  

__________________
OKnights112 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-24-2013, 11:11 PM   #26
OKnights112
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Pearland, TX USA
Posts: 67
Default

Day 18 – 2/23/13
I noticed that there is some growth on my both of my Anubias Nana. I guess I am doing something right. I also installed a Hydor Koralia Nano 425 to help with some water flow.
Ammonia – 0.5ppm
Nitrates – 5ppm
Nitrites – 0ppm
PH – 7.4

I am running my CO2 when the lights are off and when they come back on for my 8 hour daylight period I stop the CO2. Is that the best method?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Day18 Nana Growth web.JPG
Views:	28
Size:	219.5 KB
ID:	93762  

__________________
OKnights112 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-25-2013, 12:41 AM   #27
ChadRamsey
Wannabe Guru
 
ChadRamsey's Avatar
 
PTrader: (60/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Canton, Ga
Posts: 1,420
Default

good start. looking great
__________________


There are 2 types of people on this forum. Those that have algae, and those that lie and say they don't.
ChadRamsey is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-25-2013, 02:17 AM   #28
OKnights112
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Pearland, TX USA
Posts: 67
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChadRamsey View Post
good start. looking great
Thanks.
__________________
OKnights112 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-25-2013, 02:53 AM   #29
Wolf19
Planted Member
 
Wolf19's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Calgary
Posts: 221
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OKnights112 View Post
I am running my CO2 when the lights are off and when they come back on for my 8 hour daylight period I stop the CO2. Is that the best method?
You have it backwards OKnights. Plants require CO2 for photosynthesis during the photoperiod (when you have lights on). You will want to switch this immediately.

Are you using a CO2 diffuser or reactor? Having a pH of 7.4 seems rather high considering you are now injecting CO2....what is the pH of your water prior to CO2 injection?
Wolf19 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-25-2013, 03:57 AM   #30
OKnights112
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Pearland, TX USA
Posts: 67
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf19 View Post
You have it backwards OKnights. Plants require CO2 for photosynthesis during the photoperiod (when you have lights on). You will want to switch this immediately.

Are you using a CO2 diffuser or reactor? Having a pH of 7.4 seems rather high considering you are now injecting CO2....what is the pH of your water prior to CO2 injection?
I will swap the CO2 period. So I should only inject CO2 when the lights are on or a couple of hours before the lights come on?

I am using an inline reactor. At night when I take my PH reading it is always at 7.4 and my water is at 7.4.
__________________
OKnights112 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012