Red Tiger Lotus
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Plants


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-07-2013, 06:29 PM   #1
Aulonocara_Freak
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Aulonocara_Freak's Avatar
 
PTrader: (12/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 514
Default

Red Tiger Lotus


So I got a RTL bulb that has a pretty large root system. I was wandering what would happen if I detach it from the bulb, would it die? Or what should I do?



Is the stem that attaches the plant to the bulb like an umbilical cord where I can cut it and have a separate plant?

Ps. The extra food is for my shrimp, lol
Aulonocara_Freak is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-07-2013, 07:02 PM   #2
scapegoat
Planted Tank Guru
 
scapegoat's Avatar
 
PTrader: (15/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: philadelphia, pa
Posts: 2,233
Default

go right ahead.

Mine detached during shipment, it's throwing out plenty of new leaves. I even cut the old growth off b/c the new growth is shaped differently.

just be sure to replant that bulb! but leave a lot of it above water so it doesnt rot. My bulb already has a handful of new leaves shooting out, with one opening already.

it's like two plants for the price of one.
__________________
scapegoat is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-07-2013, 07:19 PM   #3
Aulonocara_Freak
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Aulonocara_Freak's Avatar
 
PTrader: (12/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 514
Default

Wish me luck going to do it right now!

Ok, The plant detached from the bulb.


The bulb detached from the plant.


The pic was taken at an angle, that's why the bulb looks weird.
Aulonocara_Freak is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-07-2013, 07:32 PM   #4
scapegoat
Planted Tank Guru
 
scapegoat's Avatar
 
PTrader: (15/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: philadelphia, pa
Posts: 2,233
Default

haha, made ya kill your lotus

just kidding, it'll be fine.
__________________
scapegoat is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-07-2013, 07:34 PM   #5
Hmoobthor
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (12/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: WI
Posts: 797
Default

plant the root in the substrate and use root tab...that bulb will grow another lotus
__________________
Eheim Pimp Club #506
Hmoobthor is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-07-2013, 07:38 PM   #6
Aulonocara_Freak
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Aulonocara_Freak's Avatar
 
PTrader: (12/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 514
Default

I got a root tab but the substrate is very shallow in that spot. So it can't go deeper, thats what he said. :p
Aulonocara_Freak is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-08-2013, 01:12 AM   #7
Indian fern
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Indian fern's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Philippines, Manila
Posts: 589
Default

I detached too my tiger lotus. Then I just left the bulb at the corner. After two weeks, small arrow shaped leaves start to sprout.
Indian fern is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-08-2013, 01:13 AM   #8
driftwoodhunter
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (23/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Christiansburg, Va
Posts: 2,756
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scapegoat View Post
haha, made ya kill your lotus

just kidding, it'll be fine.
lol - that cracked me up...
__________________
The Fraternity of Dirt # 7 - Daughter of the Dirt - Canon Club #018
Twin 29g Dirt Tanks on an Iron Stand - DIY 3D Backgrounds
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/ta...stand-pic.html
The Behemoth - 125 dirt tank
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...d.php?t=199772
driftwoodhunter is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-08-2013, 04:05 AM   #9
AirstoND
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,456
Default

That substrate might not be deep and nutrient cycled enough.
Definitely add some root tabs and consider some DIY CO2.
AirstoND is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012