This light in a 55 gallon for most plants?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Lighting


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-05-2013, 07:25 PM   #1
btw-nc
Newbie
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: NC/USA
Posts: 4
Default

This light in a 55 gallon for most plants?


48 INCH SOLAR T5 HO AQUARIUM LIGHT - 2 X 54 WATTS (Catalina Aquar.)

I want plants in my tank but I don't care anything about growing rare/finicky/high light requirement plants or using CO2...so I'd guess you'd say it will be low-tech. The tank is a standard 55 which is sort of tall but narrow front-to-back.

First post =
btw-nc is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-05-2013, 07:53 PM   #2
Yankee
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Yankee's Avatar
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Oregon
Posts: 324
Default

Welcome to TPT!

This light should work for you, yet again it may be a little high for a 55gallon low tech. You might want to order it and run 1 bulb or put some window screen in front of it. See Hoppy's PAR chart, I think this fixture is on there.
Yankee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 07:58 PM   #3
hbosman
Wannabe Guru
 
hbosman's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Leesburg Virginia
Posts: 1,598
Default

Running two bulbs without CO2 will give you algae. I have a three bulb setup from Catalina and run only two bulbs and, I have to really blast the CO2 and fertilize daily. Ask Jim to price you that fixture with two switches, one for each bulb. And ask him to substitute 6500 K bulbs for the 10000 K and actinitic. He will accomodate you. Explain its for a low tech planted tank, he'll know what you are talking about.
hbosman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 08:15 PM   #4
btw-nc
Newbie
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: NC/USA
Posts: 4
Default

Fine business, thanks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hbosman View Post
Running two bulbs without CO2 will give you algae. I have a three bulb setup from Catalina and run only two bulbs and, I have to really blast the CO2 and fertilize daily. Ask Jim to price you that fixture with two switches, one for each bulb. And ask him to substitute 6500 K bulbs for the 10000 K and actinitic. He will accomodate you. Explain its for a low tech planted tank, he'll know what you are talking about.
btw-nc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012