Question...How to raise ph in oebt tank?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Shrimp & Other Invertebrates


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-24-2013, 08:00 PM   #1
giantdny
Algae Grower
 
giantdny's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 80
Default

Question...How to raise ph in oebt tank?


I have a tank of oebt it's a 6 gal spec parameters go like this. With fluval shrimp strattum also I'm dosing fluval shrimp mineral supplement to raise the gh a tiny bit at a time.
Kh 1
Gh 3
Ph 6.4
Ammonia 0
Nitrites 0
Nitrates between 5-0
TDS 136
Temp 70*

I'd like to raise the ph level to more acceptable level for tigers 7.0-7.4 any suggestions on how to do this would be amazing. I though about different rocks or crushed coral but I'm unsure on the best safest way. I don't want to lose these guys

Thanks!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
giantdny is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-24-2013, 08:02 PM   #2
giantdny
Algae Grower
 
giantdny's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 80
Default Question...How to raise ph in oebt tank?

I also use prime with 50/50 tap/RO water once a week 20% water change.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
giantdny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 08:21 PM   #3
wicca27
Planted Tank Guru
 
wicca27's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Dewey
Posts: 4,811
Send a message via Yahoo to wicca27
Default

change your substrate! fluval shrimp statum lowers ph i would use just plant pool filter sand and thats what i am going to do when i get my new tigers. no mater what you do unless you change the substrate it will always be working against you and cause ph swings. also what is your tap water paremeters? you might not need to use ro water. i dont need ro for shrimp cause my tap after it sits about a day is 7-7.2ish so pretty perfect for tiger shrimp of any kind
wicca27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 08:33 PM   #4
giantdny
Algae Grower
 
giantdny's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 80
Default Question...How to raise ph in oebt tank?

Jeez well tap is
Kh 2
Gh 5
Ph 7.6
Guess ill be starting yet another tank for these guys.

Can I swap out the substrate without starting another tank?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
giantdny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 08:48 PM   #5
Puddles
Suspended
 
PTrader: (26/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 732
Default Question...How to raise ph in oebt tank?

That tap is great for tigers. Change to an inert substrate like sand or inert gravel and you should be fine. Fluval buffers the ph to 6.5 so you're just going to fight it.
Puddles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 08:52 PM   #6
giantdny
Algae Grower
 
giantdny's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 80
Default Question...How to raise ph in oebt tank?

Yeah that's my plan now. Just trying to figure out if I can do it without starting another tank. They lived just fine in it for 3 months. No deaths but no saddles or berried females either. Just trying to decide what the risk/reward is now if I try and change out the substrate. I have sand and beach sand and black rocks all it my disposal at my house.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
giantdny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 09:15 PM   #7
Bananariot
Planted Tank Guru
 
Bananariot's Avatar
 
PTrader: (25/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Biddeford, Maine
Posts: 2,635
Default

I breed my OEBT in pH 6.5 water. Ask your source what pH they are keeping their OEBT at.
Bananariot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 09:47 PM   #8
giantdny
Algae Grower
 
giantdny's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 80
Default Question...How to raise ph in oebt tank?

My guy is keeping them at ph7.0 with Amazonia substrate. Seems like a high ph for that substrate.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
giantdny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 10:28 PM   #9
danielt
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: In an aquarium nearby
Posts: 447
Default

If you know a bit of chemistry you will find out how to raise your pH.

First, start your gH boosting with Calcium hydroxide. It will raise gH and pH. Add an air stone and bubble the water. That will also raise pH although it will not be quick which is good for the shrimp.

Your substrate leaches organic acids in the water causing the pH to drop. If you don't replace it soon it will be a continuous struggle to get and keep your pH up.

You might try Sodium Hydroxide although I don't know if the Hydroxide way will keep its own and not cause just a pH bump for a couple of hours but you can try.
danielt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 11:52 PM   #10
wicca27
Planted Tank Guru
 
wicca27's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Dewey
Posts: 4,811
Send a message via Yahoo to wicca27
Default

for me its best to use what you have and not play with water to much cause if your off any it can stress shrimp. thats why i use sand and tap so i dont have to worry about adjusting stuff.

im in the same boat with changing substrates lol. moved my crs and now going to use that tank for tigers thinkin black tigers, and have to get out the old substrate and add new. i will prob use bigger hose and suck part out and replace with sand. and do that a little at a time over a week or so and so small water changes at the same time. we shall see how it goes
wicca27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 12:48 AM   #11
sbarbee54
The Security Dude
 
sbarbee54's Avatar
 
PTrader: (103/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: The Badlands
Posts: 4,180
Default

Throw 3-4 TBS of crushed coral in there
__________________
55 Planted Rummys,2 GBR,8 Corys,4 Discus PFR Culls
Many shrimp tanks
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...half-done.html
Finnex Pimp #8
sbarbee54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 01:05 AM   #12
giantdny
Algae Grower
 
giantdny's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 80
Default Question...How to raise ph in oebt tank?

Quote:
Originally Posted by wicca27 View Post
for me its best to use what you have and not play with water to much cause if your off any it can stress shrimp. thats why i use sand and tap so i dont have to worry about adjusting stuff.

im in the same boat with changing substrates lol. moved my crs and now going to use that tank for tigers thinkin black tigers, and have to get out the old substrate and add new. i will prob use bigger hose and suck part out and replace with sand. and do that a little at a time over a week or so and so small water changes at the same time. we shall see how it goes
I think I'll do the same thing. I have sand so I guess I could use that.. I just don't want to disturb them too much.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
giantdny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 01:06 AM   #13
giantdny
Algae Grower
 
giantdny's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 80
Default Question...How to raise ph in oebt tank?

I may also try the crushed coral. I assume the substrate will just fight that though.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
giantdny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 01:41 AM   #14
wicca27
Planted Tank Guru
 
wicca27's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Dewey
Posts: 4,811
Send a message via Yahoo to wicca27
Default

my fss is nearing the end of its life. ive had it a year and at the start i had to be careful cause it would drop down to a ph of 5. its starting to break down pretty good and get kinda dusty if i mess in the tank at all, so im not to worried about it. the only thing in the tank really are the 6 shrimp i didnt want to move yet cause 4 are berried and 2 males i couldnt catch lol. but yeah im going sand and tap water. the main thing i will have to worry about is temp when it starts getting warmer. not sure what i will do about. good luck with your oebt and i will update when i start moving stuff in my tank so you can see how it goes
wicca27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 01:56 AM   #15
Puddles
Suspended
 
PTrader: (26/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 732
Default Question...How to raise ph in oebt tank?

I have a thread right now about cooling a tank during the hot months if you want to take a gander.
Puddles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012