Ada aquasoil powder question
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-03-2013, 02:45 PM   #1
Bronco
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 9
Default

Ada aquasoil powder question


I was given a few bags of aquasoil powder. It's enough for my 50 gallon tank.
From what I've read its the same thing as regular aquasoil but is harder to work with and can be very dusty. Can I get away with just using the powder ?
Because it has a pretty fine grain could I cap it ? Thanks !
Bronco is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-03-2013, 03:16 PM   #2
somewhatshocked
Obsessed? Maybe
 
somewhatshocked's Avatar
 
PTrader: (402/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 10,685
Default

Why would you cap it? Use it by itself - it'll be absolutely fine.

If you fill the tank very slowly, you'll have few problems with dust.
somewhatshocked is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2013, 04:01 PM   #3
puopg
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (10/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 750
Default

It's not the same as aquasoil. Aquasoil holds onto nutrients for a longer time. And you should cap WITH it.

If you are worried of kicking up dust when you flood the tank, place some paper towels or plastic bags on the substrate. Then place a bowl on top of that and slowly fill. very carefully remove the paper/plastic bags. Once you get it filled maybe 40%, you can remove the bags and i just use my hand and a cup and pour the water onto my free hand which is at the surface so the water disperses near the surface and doesn't penetrate.
puopg is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2013, 04:08 PM   #4
Bronco
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 9
Default

Thanks for the reply. I never really heard of anyone using just the powder in a larger tank. So I was thinking the cap would help control the dust not only
while filling but also if I decide to move things around after its filled.
Bronco is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2013, 04:12 PM   #5
Bronco
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 9
Default

I was told its just a smaller grained version of aquasoil.
Bronco is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2013, 05:34 PM   #6
somewhatshocked
Obsessed? Maybe
 
somewhatshocked's Avatar
 
PTrader: (402/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 10,685
Default

It is - it's just a smaller grain of regular Aquasoil, Bronco.
somewhatshocked is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2013, 07:17 PM   #7
Bronco
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 9
Default

Definitely over thinking this. Ill just be careful filling the tank like you said. Thanks for setting me straight. I'm sure my plants will grow just fine in it.
Bronco is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2013, 09:26 PM   #8
minicrazy592
Algae Grower
 
minicrazy592's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Corpus Christ, Texas
Posts: 131
Send a message via Skype™ to minicrazy592
Default

Carpeting plants love the stuff. Easier to send and sprout runners than the normal type I've found.
__________________
minicrazy592 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2013, 09:38 PM   #9
Green_Flash
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (7/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 1,667
Default

yeah, plastic wrap then wax paper when you fill, slowly
Green_Flash is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Tags
ada, aquasoil

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012