Advice on the right PL for my Fluval Edge
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Lighting

Old 02-01-2013, 06:34 PM   #1
timfok
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)

Advice on the right PL for my Fluval Edge

OK so I've just done this:

This isn't my actual tank, but I've done the same modification with a spare base.

This gives me a lot of under hood real estate for a PL bulb. But I'm a bit of a novice in this, so need some advice on what to put underneath it.

I've found this bulb, it's a 26W daylight PL bulb:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Philips-MAST...9741972&sr=8-5

My worries - Is it sufficient to light a heavily planted tank on it's own?

Will I have to consider ventilation (do these generate a lot of heat?)

Thanks
timfok is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-01-2013, 08:02 PM   #2
defender.TX
Algae Grower

I'm not an expert on Fluval Edge's by any means - but it looks like that one has the original halogen bulbs. Is it the 6 or 12 gallon? I would be very worried about putting too much heat into the tank by adding anything and running the original halogens. Have you considered LED?
defender.TX is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-01-2013, 08:53 PM   #3
timfok
Algae Grower

I currently do have two Mr16 LEDs.

These are an upgrade to the smaller mr11 LEDs that are supplied with the tank.

I don't want to go down the LED route further as the par levels on them compared to fluorescent are poor, meaning a heavily planted tank would suffer.

The modification I've done is added the extra tier of hood (the one that doesn't have the grill on top).

I want to know what fluorescent bulb I should put in there and what I can get away with in terms of ventilation requirements (or lack of) and wattage.