60 inch tank
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Lighting


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-01-2013, 05:13 AM   #1
plantlover
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: fort smith
Posts: 39
Default

60 inch tank


so i am about to buy a new tank it well be 60 inches long and my current light is only 48 inch long,im looking to upgrade the lighting in the near future but i cant find a 60inch long light that is considered high light.can sombody help with some ideas of what to do for my new set up maybe sme leds?
plantlover is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-01-2013, 05:44 AM   #2
skmdmasud
Algae Grower
 
skmdmasud's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bangladesh
Posts: 48
Send a message via Skype™ to skmdmasud
Default

Led is good. Does not matter how big the tank is. Just buy proper size heat sink glue the leds, more the merrier and power it up. Good Luck. the only downside is $$$. You can buy Chinese 1w leds they are cheap. i am running some for over a year and still looks good.

Last edited by skmdmasud; 02-01-2013 at 08:58 AM.. Reason: subscribe
skmdmasud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 04:06 PM   #3
cah925
Fear the Swamp!
 
cah925's Avatar
 
PTrader: (173/100%)
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Riverview, FL
Posts: 2,504
Default

I bought a 60" tank years ago. My only regret about lighting is that I bought a 60" T5HO light fixture. It is really hard to find that size bulb and shipping costs are pretty expensive due to the unusal size. Try to find a way to get 2 fixtures or come up with a DIY plan.
cah925 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 04:29 PM   #4
Hoppy
Planted Tank Guru
 
Hoppy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (74/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 18,707
Default

If you suspend a 48 inch light high above a 60 inch tank, you should get good light coverage. If you use an adequate number of bulbs you should get the light level you want. An advantage of hanging the light high is that the PAR at the water surface is much lower vs that at the substrate compared to when you have the light right at the top of the tank.
__________________
Hoppy
Hoppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 05:04 PM   #5
plantlover
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: fort smith
Posts: 39
Default

well i think i am going to try and hang it to get the coverage,maybe invest in a par meter too.It is a pcf light so hope the par at the substrate is still considered
medium.
plantlover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 07:07 PM   #6
defender.TX
Algae Grower
 
defender.TX's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 71
Default

Honestly, I think if you hung a Finnex Ray II 48" above the tank, or even two of them, it would still be enough light to be considered "high" light. How deep is the tank?
defender.TX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 09:46 PM   #7
plantlover
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: fort smith
Posts: 39
Default

My current tank is 21" deep but I believe the new one is going to be slightly more shallow between 18-20" can't remember for sure I'll have to double check
plantlover is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012