Fluval shrimp stratum
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-30-2013, 02:38 PM   #1
Fdsh5
Wannabe Guru
 
Fdsh5's Avatar
 
PTrader: (43/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 1,244
Default

Fluval shrimp stratum


I changed my substrate to fluval shrimp stratum. How long until it starts to effect my water parameters meaning ph gh and kh. Thanks
Fdsh5 is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-30-2013, 03:12 PM   #2
GeToChKn
Planted Tank Guru
 
GeToChKn's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,116
Default

How hard is your water? If it's very hard gh/kh wise and the pH is high, I don't expect it will change much at all.
__________________
20g platy, , 2 x 10g shrimp, 3 x 20g shrimp, 7.5g shrimp and 1 great dane/mastiff puppy.

Sump Pimp #2

My Tanks and my shrimps
GeToChKn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 03:17 PM   #3
acitydweller
ओं मणिपद्मे हूं
 
acitydweller's Avatar
 
PTrader: (174/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 7,683
Default

+1.. much of this is dependant on the parameters of your source water. Buffer life will likely last longer if the buffering is a lesser swing. the buffering should start happening immediately but would be only measureable if the change is larger. For reference, my tanks with flourite, ecocomplete and safe-t-sorb all reside within 6.5-6.7. FSS tends to remain in 6.6 for the past 7 months.
__________________
"I am Groot", the faithful protector
acitydweller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 06:04 PM   #4
Fdsh5
Wannabe Guru
 
Fdsh5's Avatar
 
PTrader: (43/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 1,244
Default

My ph was 7.4 and the gh and kh through the roof. I am going to do a water change Saturday and use RO water.
Fdsh5 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 09:32 PM   #5
ftwchopper
Algae Grower
 
ftwchopper's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: woodstock connecticut
Posts: 81
Default

Im wondering if safe-t-sorb would be a good substrate for crs seeing that it buffers down to 6.0.Ive had it in a planted 29 gal for a few months and its still at a very low ph.
ftwchopper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012