What to do with anaerobic substrate
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-29-2013, 05:07 PM   #1
Shimagoma
Planted Member
 
Shimagoma's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Cockeysville
Posts: 162
Send a message via AIM to Shimagoma Send a message via Skype™ to Shimagoma
Default

What to do with anaerobic substrate


Chuck it? I am redoing my 29 and i found a pocked of dark substrate that looks like it went anaerobic and I was wondering... mix it in? chuck it? I was hoping to use it with some fresh gravel to retop my new dirt tank (which will be interesting hehe)
Shimagoma is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-29-2013, 08:05 PM   #2
lochaber
Wannabe Guru
 
lochaber's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 1,982
Default

If you are rebuilding a tank, I'd think just taking it out, and giving it a bit of a rinse should make it fine for re-use.

I think the major concern with anaerobic pockets isn't the bacteria themselves, or anything in the substrate specifically, but generating H2S or other toxic gasses.
lochaber is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012