Transplanting mangroves from sw to fresh
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Plants


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-26-2013, 03:11 AM   #1
GDominy
Planted Tank VIP
 
GDominy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Victoria,British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 3,363
Default

Transplanting mangroves from sw to fresh


Currently my fuge on my reef has several mangroves over two feet tall growing in it. I am shutting this tank down in a few weeks and would hate to part with them. Has anyone managed to take mangroves from a saltwater setup and acclimate them to fresh? I would love to keep them growing in my new planted rig.
GDominy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-26-2013, 04:01 AM   #2
steven p
Wannabe Guru
 
steven p's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: columbus, ne
Posts: 1,496
Default

Reds are supposed to be super hardy and not much acclimation is needed.
__________________
steven p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 04:24 AM   #3
GDominy
Planted Tank VIP
 
GDominy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Victoria,British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 3,363
Default

Im not sure what species they are to be honest. On my last trip to cuba I brought 30 back with me. Managed to get a dozen to grow quite nicely. Im pretty attached to them now.

Before anyone asks, yes I imported them legally into canada and had them cleared through agriculture canada for aquaculture use.
GDominy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 02:19 PM   #4
somewhatshocked
Obsessed? Maybe
 
somewhatshocked's Avatar
 
PTrader: (430/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 11,443
Default

You shouldn't have too much of an issue. Since there's concern, just transition them slowly. May be a good idea to test things out with a single plant to see how it goes if you want to be extra careful.

Are their roots growing into any sort of substrate in your refugium?
somewhatshocked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 03:37 PM   #5
GDominy
Planted Tank VIP
 
GDominy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Victoria,British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 3,363
Default

The msngroves were positioned in a way that the roots are mostly exposed but a few have anchored in and around the live rock. I plan on shattering the rocks to expose the roots on those pieces. Will be a delicate process but Im confident I can free them. I dont want to have live rock transferred to fresh due to the high calcium content. Would definitely cause problems with the water chemistry Im aiming for. (Not to mention the biological pollution that the dieoff would cause). The rest of the substrate is simply aragonite but most roots havent reached down that far
GDominy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 09:33 PM   #6
hydrophyte
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (141/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Madison, Wisconsin
Posts: 9,562
Default

Transition them slowly for best results!
hydrophyte is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012