ADA Substrate for Crystals/TBs
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Shrimp & Other Invertebrates


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-24-2013, 03:05 PM   #1
Simplicity
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 71
Default

ADA Substrate for Crystals/TBs


Hey All,
I am building a new shrimp tank with a new 40G tank I got. I need to order my aquasoil and have really liked ADA Amazonia II. Unfortunately I want my ph lower to help my baby survival as I simply could not keep the babies alive in 6.8pH.

Should I :
1. Use 3 Bags (3x9L) ADA Africana
2. Use 2 Bags (2x9L) ADA Africana and 1 Bag (1x9L) ADA Amazonia II Powder Size as a cap?
3. Or 2/3 Amazonia and 1/3 Africana and mix it

Does anyone have any tips on setting up a new tank?

I want to cap the Africana with Amazonia Powder. What are your thoughts?

I want to add a base layer of Mosura BT-9 & Mosura Old Sea Mud. Inquired to Liam for his special substrate sauce.

WIll be using sponge filter + canister filter from established CRS tank and transfer them over.

Aiming for a 6.0pH (good for my TBs and CRS I think), gH 5, and a TDS of around 100-125
Simplicity is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-24-2013, 03:14 PM   #2
GeToChKn
Planted Tank Guru
 
GeToChKn's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,116
Default

They all buffer different and have different amounts of ammonia, etc. You're bests sticking with one type of soil for the entire tank. Africana can buffer down to 5-5.5 range, and say amazonia to 6-6.5 range, they are going to be competing.
__________________
20g platy, , 2 x 10g shrimp, 3 x 20g shrimp, 7.5g shrimp and 1 great dane/mastiff puppy.

Sump Pimp #2

My Tanks and my shrimps
GeToChKn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 03:39 PM   #3
speedie408
Canon Pimp #001
 
speedie408's Avatar
 
PTrader: (385/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Central Cali
Posts: 8,275
Default

UGF with ADA AS "new", ran by a sufficient canister filter. No need to use Africana. TBs do just fine with using only AS.

Will you be using 100% RO? If so you should be able to meet your desired params easily if you remineralize properly.
speedie408 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 03:46 PM   #4
Betta Maniac
Wanabe BKK Herder
 
Betta Maniac's Avatar
 
PTrader: (17/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: IHella<3Oakland
Posts: 2,159
Default

Amazonia buffers down to 6 or below for me with no problem (test doesn't go any lower). And that's true with RO water and with my tap (which is, admittedly, quite soft).
__________________
Betta Maniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 03:50 PM   #5
plamski
Wannabe Guru
 
plamski's Avatar
 
PTrader: (59/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Boca Raton,FL
Posts: 1,063
Default

For 40Gal tank you will need 3-4" of substrate to keep PH under 6.Africana or Malaya is the best for me. TB's pops very nice .For UGF you will need 2" of bio-balls or Seachem matrix to cover the pipes then 3-4" substrate. You will need long UGF pipes and low water flow in order to keep substrate in shape. Otherwise you have to replace it every 12-15 months.
plamski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 03:55 PM   #6
sbarbee54
The Security Dude
 
sbarbee54's Avatar
 
PTrader: (97/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: The Badlands
Posts: 4,088
Default

Depends on your starting water and your RO water change parameters. My africana buffered down to 4.6 with 2" of substrate. I had to pull half it and put in Amazonia new, now with 2" with 75% amazonia new and 25% africana I get PH 5.7 They are all doing well in it. But were doing well in my tank with Akadama buffering to 6.1, they had all their babies in there before I moved them. If I had to do it all over again, I would just do Amazonia new, no afrincana. Because my water is pretty soft as is. 7.0PH Gh2 KH0-1 tDS 30, that is out of the tap. My RO durring summer is 6.4-6.6 GH0 KH 0 durring winter and spring it is 5.7-5.8 GH0 KH0 so when I do water changes I have to mix a little tap to bring it up a bit or it will buffer it down to 5.4-5.5 ish. I like to keep it stable
__________________
55 Planted Rummys,2 GBR,8 Corys,4 Discus PFR Culls
Many shrimp tanks
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...half-done.html
Finnex Pimp #8
sbarbee54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 03:55 PM   #7
speedie408
Canon Pimp #001
 
speedie408's Avatar
 
PTrader: (385/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Central Cali
Posts: 8,275
Default

Also, I'd recommend not using a 40B, but instead use a 20long or tall. Much easier to maintain water params, not too big to where shrimp can't find each other to consummate, and not too small to where you'll need more room later on. You'll probably sell/give away shrimp faster than they can repopulate in a 20g.
speedie408 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 04:16 PM   #8
Simplicity
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 71
Default

Thanks for the replies.

I will be using 100% RO, remineralized to how I need.

Unfortunately this was a free 40G tank (not long) I will measure tonight and return the specs. (90cm wide x like 30 cm x 50cm high?)

I dont plan on using a UGF........ is there a significant benefit? Will it be useless to add bacter to the glass prior to substrate without a UGF??
Simplicity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 03:35 PM   #9
Simplicity
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 71
Default ADA Substrate for Crystals/TBs

Yikes so my tank specs were accurate 36"x12"x20"

I've purchased all the PVC pipe and pieces to make a similar Ugf as Liam/mordalphus, ahha post above said I wouldn't do Ugf! Changed my mind at home depot last night!!

Now I'm about to order my ADA. For my tank size do you recommend 2x 9L bags of Amazonia or Africana?

I plan on keeping various TBs and Sss CRS. I'm guessing pH will be around 5ph.... If I add a bag of Amazonia powder as a cap will that be any better? I'm aiming for 5.5 ph and don't know why to buy for the substrate
Simplicity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 03:53 PM   #10
sbarbee54
The Security Dude
 
sbarbee54's Avatar
 
PTrader: (97/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: The Badlands
Posts: 4,088
Default

Amazonia, skip the Africana
__________________
55 Planted Rummys,2 GBR,8 Corys,4 Discus PFR Culls
Many shrimp tanks
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...half-done.html
Finnex Pimp #8
sbarbee54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 06:57 PM   #11
Simplicity
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 71
Default ADA Substrate for Crystals/TBs

There seems to be a strong lean toward new Amazonia for my tb tank.

Does any1 recommend adding something ontop of the matrix above the. Ugf besides soil
Simplicity is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012