How much STS for 125g?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-22-2013, 03:48 PM   #1
RyUGuy
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: College Station, Tx
Posts: 61
Default

How much STS for 125g?


I am replacing my gravel with Safe T Sorb and I am trying to figure out how much I need to buy for a 125 (72x18x3 +/-) What would be the closest material to use for the substrate calculator, fluorite? The bags are 40 lbs but how much does it cover compared to other substrates. Sorry I am not very good with calculating volumes.

Last edited by RyUGuy; 01-22-2013 at 04:08 PM.. Reason: Additional info.
RyUGuy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-22-2013, 06:03 PM   #2
Bustedbones
Newbie
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 4
Default

Hey i just replaced my substrate yesterday in my 125G. I put in 180lbs of eco complete.
Theres a formula i used. Worked out perfect with 2" in the front and 4" in the back.
If your tank isnt planted you wont need as much as i used.
So use this formula. L x W / 10
72 x 18 / 10 = 130lbs


Posted from Plantedtank.net App for Android
Bustedbones is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-23-2013, 01:26 AM   #3
sowNreap
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NE TN
Posts: 587
Default

I bought 2-40lb bags of STS and had enough to do a 75 gal, 29 gal, 20 long and still have some left over, maybe enough to do my 10 gal but not real sure about that. The 29 gal I got a bit upset when planting after filling 3/4 with water and ended up dumping a bunch more in. Probably too much as it's almost 4" deep in some spots which I'm hoping won't hurt anything. The 75 gal is probably 3" deep if it were flat. The 20 gal seems to only have about 2" depth.

So after all that 2 bags might be enough, depending on how deep you want the substrate.

I'm not sure what it compares to using the calculator. I can't remember for sure what I used (think it was flourite) .. it said I needed about 1-1/2 bags based on 2" depth, so I bought 2. I'd already mixed them together when Diana posted she used 1 bag in an 88 gal tank and said: "Yes, the 40 lb was barely enough. 5' x 16", and the substrate would be barely 2" if it was flat.". I'm not sure how much I actually used in my 75 which is 48"x18".

Also, for me 2" doesn't seem deep enough for some plants but seems to work good in my 20 long at that depth.

Hope this helps some.
sowNreap is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-23-2013, 01:54 AM   #4
Contrl
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Missouri
Posts: 63
Default

one bag is p l e n t y for a 55 so I'd bet you'd be fine with 2 for that 125.. I'm planning on 2 for my 150 which is wider than your tank, same length.. I will be doing 1/2 to 1 inch of soil underneath the STS... but even without the soil I'd bet 2 bags would be a go.
Contrl is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-23-2013, 01:46 PM   #5
RyUGuy
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: College Station, Tx
Posts: 61
Default

Alright thanks for the info guys, I am probably going to go ahead and get a couple extra bags just in case this gets discontinued like several of the other "substrates" since it is so cheap.
RyUGuy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-25-2013, 11:54 AM   #6
h4n
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (713/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Charlton, Mass
Posts: 4,910
Default

Good luck with it. i'm going give it a try in a few weeks.
h4n is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-25-2013, 02:13 PM   #7
RyUGuy
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: College Station, Tx
Posts: 61
Default

Thanks! I am probably going to do a little tank journal for it since I could never seam to find many pictures or anything, just people talking on forums saying it does well.
RyUGuy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-26-2013, 09:58 AM   #8
nikonD70s
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
nikonD70s's Avatar
 
PTrader: (16/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: california
Posts: 737
Default

just bought 3 bags for my standard 135g, and its a LOT. i only used about 1 and a half bag, and it gave my 135 about 3". got plenty left over. 2 bag is way more then enough. also, just rinse it a few times. cuz after hours of rinsing i realized this stuff never clears, so rinse a few time and dump it in your tank. your filter will handle the rest. i just dumped mine in my current tank and it clouded my tank a lot and a few hours later it cleared. doing another waterchange tomorrow and it should be crystal clear.
nikonD70s is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-27-2013, 11:43 PM   #9
Jeanne
Newbie
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 1
Default

I used 2 full bags in my 125 gal and it was just about perfect. I wish I had added a thin layer of gravel on top because the sts is very light weight and I can see it move in some places from the filter flow.
Jeanne is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-29-2013, 04:41 AM   #10
Contrl
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Missouri
Posts: 63
Default

I just threw 2 bags into my partially filled 150 and it looks to be plenty. I chickened out on dirting the tank as I've never tried it before. The safe-t-sorb seems to be working really well in the 55 I have it in. so I figure why not try dirt with a smaller tank the first time.

but 2 bags looks like at a minimum 3 inches once it's leveled



since I didn't dirt, I didn't bucket rinse, just tossed it in and will stir and do water changes till the water is clearish
Contrl is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-29-2013, 02:36 PM   #11
RyUGuy
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: College Station, Tx
Posts: 61
Default

I ended up getting 4 bags so I can have extra if I need to replace any or just in case. Right now I have 2 of the bags sitting in fertilized / bacteria water so it can pre-obsorb nutrients and be kinda cycled before I switch. I am taking this opprotunity to hunt for more wood, to bad I have to drive an 1-1/2 hours to get some.
RyUGuy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012