Easy CO2 reactor
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > DIY


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-19-2003, 06:16 PM   #1
cich
Wannabe Guru
 
cich's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Kelowna, BC, Canada
Posts: 1,062
Send a message via MSN to cich
Default

I have an Aquaclear Mini (2 actually) laying around unused, and I was thinking, why not turn it into a CO2 reactor! I'm planning on drilling the intake tube just before the impeller, and the air hose can go there, and fill the media area with bio-balls or whatever slows the rising of the bubbles.

Let me know what you guys think of this idea!

--cich
cich is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-19-2003, 06:27 PM   #2
Saluki
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Posts: 70
Send a message via Yahoo to Saluki
Default

Why not just fill it with sponges. In this configuration, it will provide excellent mechanical, biological and do the job of the reactor.
Saluki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2003, 06:29 PM   #3
cich
Wannabe Guru
 
cich's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Kelowna, BC, Canada
Posts: 1,062
Send a message via MSN to cich
Default

good point
Some times I get obsessed with doing different things.

I'm also wondering.... Will all that CO2 harm the bio-filtration at all, or am I worrying too much?

--cich
cich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2003, 06:49 PM   #4
Saluki
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Posts: 70
Send a message via Yahoo to Saluki
Default

It shouldnt. People use filters for DIY CO2 reactors all of the time.

I run my DIY CO2 into the intake of my Eheim 2233. I never detect any ammonia or nitrites, and the tank is not so heavily planted that the plants would use up all available nutrients.
Saluki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2003, 08:08 PM   #5
GulfCoastAquarian
Planted Tank VIP
 
GulfCoastAquarian's Avatar
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 3,578
Send a message via ICQ to GulfCoastAquarian Send a message via Yahoo to GulfCoastAquarian
Default

This is a fine idea if you're using pressurized CO2. But if you're using Yeast-Generated CO2, then the filter will exert negative pressure on the Yeast/Sugar mix (venturi effect) and will most likely end up pulling the nasty mix into the tank.
__________________
- Sam P -
plantedtanker in limbo - all tanks currently in storage
GulfCoastAquarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2003, 09:11 PM   #6
Saluki
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Posts: 70
Send a message via Yahoo to Saluki
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GulfCoastAquarian
This is a fine idea if you're using pressurized CO2. But if you're using Yeast-Generated CO2, then the filter will exert negative pressure on the Yeast/Sugar mix (venturi effect) and will most likely end up pulling the nasty mix into the tank.
I have never had that problem, and I have always used filters as my difussers. The venturi effect is just not that strong.
Saluki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2003, 09:24 PM   #7
GulfCoastAquarian
Planted Tank VIP
 
GulfCoastAquarian's Avatar
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 3,578
Send a message via ICQ to GulfCoastAquarian Send a message via Yahoo to GulfCoastAquarian
Default

Hmmm, it has happened to me a few times. And I didn't even plumb the hose right before the impeller, where the suction is strongest. This is just with the tube near the filter intake. I think my Aquaclears are a little too strong for my tanks, though.
__________________
- Sam P -
plantedtanker in limbo - all tanks currently in storage
GulfCoastAquarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2003, 10:11 PM   #8
Saluki
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Posts: 70
Send a message via Yahoo to Saluki
Default

How full were your bottles? There is a good 3 or 4 inches of air space above my yeast/sugar/water mixture in my generation botles. The suction would literally have to be strong enough to collapse the bottle material to bring the water level anywhere near the end of the air tube that goes in through the bottle cap.
Saluki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2003, 10:41 PM   #9
cich
Wannabe Guru
 
cich's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Kelowna, BC, Canada
Posts: 1,062
Send a message via MSN to cich
Default

As a general rule I never fill my 2-liter bottles more than half full to prevent such an event.

--cich
cich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2003, 01:12 AM   #10
KyleT
Planted Tank VIP
 
KyleT's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 13,533
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GulfCoastAquarian
This is a fine idea if you're using pressurized CO2. But if you're using Yeast-Generated CO2, then the filter will exert negative pressure on the Yeast/Sugar mix (venturi effect) and will most likely end up pulling the nasty mix into the tank.
I don't think the mini is strong enough to do that Sam, so long as the bottle isn't almost completely filled that is. I have been running this exact set up on my 10 Gallon for just over 1/2 year now and so far everything has been doing just fine. *crosses fingers and knocks on wood*

Kyle
__________________
Please Send all Support Requests to forumadmin
Bit Of Nothing - Personal Blog
KyleT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2003, 04:33 PM   #11
Wasserpest
Are these real?
 
Wasserpest's Avatar
 
PTrader: (168/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Monterey, CA
Posts: 15,046
Default

From what I read esp on the Krib collapsing soda bottles do happen, and it won't really be affected by the fill levels of the plastic bottles.

I would not place the CO2 outlet close to the impeller. Especially if you are using additional filter sponges, when they get dirty the vacuum inside the pump increases and soon you might have a big mess on your hands.

Make sure the pressure of the CO2 mix pushes the bubbles out of the air tubing, and then direct them to the impeller.

Just as Sam said...
Wasserpest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2004, 03:50 AM   #12
skzzle
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Lansing, MI
Posts: 13
Send a message via AIM to skzzle
Default

About 5 years ago i was using DIY yeast co2 injection and using my canister filter as the reactor and things when to hell. I had cats and they loved my tank. I'm sure some of you see where this is going. Anyhow, "somehow" my yeast bottle was knocked upside down, needless to say, when I came home from my 3 day vacation, my entire 55 gallon tank was a white cloud and most of my fish were either belly up or gasping for oxygen. I think I lost about 85% of everything because of that. I had to start completely over. I will never go back to yeast.
skzzle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2004, 02:57 PM   #13
malkore
Planted Tank Guru
 
malkore's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 2,165
Default

Just use glass juice jugs for the yeast solution...then it cannot collapse.
__________________
Malkore
Filstar XP2 PIMP #3
Visit my aquarium pages - see specs on my tanks, and photos of how they've evolved
malkore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2004, 05:44 PM   #14
Rolo
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (7/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Twin Cities, Minnesota
Posts: 1,717
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cich
good point
Some times I get obsessed with doing different things.

I'm also wondering.... Will all that CO2 harm the bio-filtration at all, or am I worrying too much?

--cich.
I opened a post on this a week ago...my conclusion is kinda long so if you want the short answer, no.

http://www.plantedtank.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=4098 (5th one down).
Rolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2004, 02:43 PM   #15
Raul-7
Wannabe Guru
 
Raul-7's Avatar
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Lomita, CA
Posts: 1,650
Default

Would this method of diffusion work on big tanks(50g-100g) too?
Raul-7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fish Caught in Aqua Medic Reactor YankeeFanInPA Equipment 9 09-26-2004 03:58 PM
Need Suggestions on placement of DIY Co2 Reactor Poohbee DIY 6 07-07-2004 02:03 AM
Another CO2 reactor question.... gmaniac Equipment 1 03-29-2004 12:52 AM
Difference between AM and AB reactor 1000s? SNPiccolo5 Equipment 7 11-14-2003 08:32 PM
want too make a cheap, easy co2 reactor? tony-da-tiger DIY 5 08-13-2003 02:20 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012