Q re: Eheim 2075 in 70g
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-22-2013, 01:06 PM   #1
jeremy va
Planted Member
 
jeremy va's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Va
Posts: 164
Default

Q re: Eheim 2075 in 70g


By any chance does anyone use an Eheim 2075 pro 3 (UltraG) in a 4 long, 70 gallon (or similar) tank? If so, does it create enough of a current that the plants are moving nicely? I have no doubts about the filtration capability -- Im just trying to figure out whether or not Id need a powerhead in addition to the filter before I plonk down the $200. Thanks!
jeremy va is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-22-2013, 01:16 PM   #2
Aquaticz
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Aquaticz's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 639
Default

I use an eheim pro 3 in a 75 gal that isv24 tall and 48 wide. I also use a koraillia (sp)
Hth


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
__________________
Regards,
Aquaticz

Aquaticz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 07:28 PM   #3
Jeff5614
Planted Tank Guru
 
Jeff5614's Avatar
 
PTrader: (52/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: TN
Posts: 2,703
Default

I have a 2076 and 2075 on my 75. Previously I had just the 2076 and ended up adding a Koralia. I don't think you'll have enough water movement in a heavily planted tank with just the one filter.

FWIW, if you've not purchased the filter yet, check out Kensfish.com. He seems to have about the best online prices for Eheims.
Jeff5614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 10:27 PM   #4
jeremy va
Planted Member
 
jeremy va's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Va
Posts: 164
Default

Thank you both for the advice. It is interesting that you both use Koralias -- I'd like to have as few wires and tubes going into the tank as possible so I'll take a look at the gph ratings (which I realize are sorta bogus) and compare them within Eheim's line and see if I can get a single filter with enough output to shake the trees, so to speak.

All the best,
jeremy va is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 10:41 PM   #5
cichnatic
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Land of Gila
Posts: 168
Default

Have you consider a sump if you don't want to many equipments inside your tank?

Don't think the 2075 will be enough flow for the tank. Either combo with another canister or HOB. Adding koralias/powerheads will give you the extra flow also. You can attempt to hide them behind plants and rocks.
__________________
EHEIM #525
cichnatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 11:35 PM   #6
jeremy va
Planted Member
 
jeremy va's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Va
Posts: 164
Default

I can't use a sump for reasons of space and the specific location -- but thank you for the suggestion.
jeremy va is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 03:53 AM   #7
OVT
Carpe Diem
 
OVT's Avatar
 
PTrader: (142/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: SF East Bay Area
Posts: 5,183
Default

I've used a single Eheim 2026 with no powerheads for years (like 12+) in a heavily planted 75Tall with no issues. 2075 is a much more powerful filter.
__________________
Courtesy * Integrity * Perseverance * Indominable Spirit * and Self Control
Tenets of TKD
OVT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 03:33 PM   #8
cichnatic
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Land of Gila
Posts: 168
Default

The 2075 has a total of 330gph which is approximately about 4.7x turnover per hour for a 70 gallon tank. If that's all you are aiming for then one will be fine.
__________________
EHEIM #525
cichnatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 05:49 AM   #9
caique
Planted Member
 
caique's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Santa Clara Calif.
Posts: 194
Default

I have an fx5 on my 48 inch 75 gallon going through a reactor and inline hydor heater, I still have a hydor koralia 550 that I run 12 hours a day, this tank is fully planted. And it has no problems with to much current at all.
caique is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012